On Not Quitting

I wasn’t going to post anything today, because I really didn’t have anything to post, but then something happened.

My oldest (almost 12) is starting the 7th grade this year and has been waiting and waiting for 7th grade so he could play football. He went to camp in July for 4 days and had a lot of fun, worked hard and learned a lot. Wednesday started 3 days of conditioning and then practice starts on Monday.

My Husband has been telling him that the toughest part of the season would be conditioning, but after that, it would be fun and that it would be worth it.

As we were pulling into the parking lot today, he started crying. Said everything hurt and he just couldn’t do it anymore. After talking to him for 10 minutes, I flat out told him he wasn’t going to quit. He had worked too hard and was looking forward to this too much, he needed to see this through and couldn’t quit just because he was tired and sore today.

 

As he got out of the car he said “mom, i’m not quitting, but don’t get mad at me when i say this, but sometimes you don’t finish your whole workout at once because your’e tired and sore, maybe you shouldn’t quit either.”

…and that was the moment my near 12 year old put me in my place.

Leave a Reply

