Introducing Emma Kristine

What a week! Last Monday, I started having contractions, they picked up as the afternoon went on and by 8pm, they were regular and strong. At 11, I called my mom and she came over to be with the two kids who were home sleeping and Spence and I went to the hospital. I really wasn’t sure if they would keep us or send me home because if I wasn’t in active labor, they wouldn’t do the c-section. Once we arrived in Labor & Delivery, I was checked out and while I was making progress, they weren’t sure if it was active labor. So the plan was to get me hooked up to an IV, watch me for a few hours and if things progressed, do a c-section, and if they stopped, I would go home. Over the course of the next hour, the contractions picked up even more, I swear they were right on top of each other and the call was made…get her prepped for the c-section, Dr. is on his way! YAY!

From the first incision until the moment she was born, was about 45 minutes, there was a lot of scar tissue to clean up and she was pretty well jam packed in there. The vacuum was used and then we heard the sweetest, quietest little cry!

Emma Kristine

Born at 3:16am on April 8, 2014

She was 6lbs 11oz and 21″ long.

Emma was born at 38 weeks and 3 days, making her the longest of my pregnancies, but also the smallest baby by two pounds. We were able to come home yesterday and we are both doing well. Emma is getting used to being part of this crazy family and I’m now the mom of 4(!!).

Oh, that hair. I love it. She had a bath this morning and I can’t stop smelling her!!

2 thoughts on “Introducing Emma Kristine

  1. OH MY GOSH! I’m so, so, so excited for you! She’s absolutely beautiful and I’m glad both of you are doing well :). I love her name as well! When (and if!) I have a baby girl when I’m older, I’m planning on naming her Emma Rose :).

    Congrats!!

Leave a Reply

