Baby Girl is Grounded

I had every intention of going to my Non Stress Test this morning, leaving the hospital by 10, running errands and then spending the rest of the day catching up on laundry and other housework that’s been neglected lately. That didn’t happen.

The nurse hooked me up to the monitors and immediately noticed her heartrate was pretty high (175’ish) and after 10 minutes, it was still that way. After 2 hours of IV fluids, me drinking cup after cup of water, the heart rate was still high. It went down a few times, but not enough and not consistently enough for them to send me home without further testing.

The on call OB came in and did a Bio Physical ProfileΒ which I had never had done before and was a little nervous, but it was pretty quick, painless and because it’s an ultrasound, I got to watch her in all her glory. So cool to see those little feet kicking instead of just feeling them. I ended up scoring a 10.8, under 10, they admit you.

What does this mean? I have another NST Friday morning and we’re hoping that today’s was just a fluke and her heart rate stays in normal ranges as it has been for every other appointment, ultrasound and NST. Obviously, the ideal course is to keep me pregnant as long as possible (I’m currently just over 30 weeks), but it may come to a point where we have to decide on delivery and NICU or possibly losing her if the pregnancy continues. I’m doing everything that I can and will continue to do so. Please keep us in your thoughts and prayers.

Even though she is grounded, she is still pretty cute πŸ˜‰ Here is a profile picture from the ultrasound this morning. She was moving around a lot and is head down, so it was hard to get a good profile shot.

Leave a Reply

