30 Weeks

Some days I feel like I’m going to be pregnant forever and it will never end, and then I realize how little time there is left and I start to get sad. This is it. This is the last time I’ll feel a baby move inside of me, the last time I’ll have a newborn, the last so many things!! Apparently I’m feeling sappy today. 

Your baby’s the size of a cucumber!
Your 15.2- to 16.7-inch, 2.5- to 3.8-pound baby continues to grow.
 
 
I had an appointment with my OB this morning and if I wasn’t having all of these blood sugar issues, it would be my best and easiest pregnancy of them all. My blood pressure is great, no swelling, growing right on track, strong heartbeat, etc. But then he looked at my blood sugars and said “it’s a good thing this is your last one, another baby might kill you.” I am to continue twice a week non stress tests at the hospital and to see my Endocrinologist as needed, but since baby girl is doing so well, I don’t need another OB appointment for 3 weeks. 
 
I talked with my Endocrinologist on the phone this afternoon and we are trying something new with my night time dose of insulin. Currently, I take 100 units right before bed, but I’m still waking up with blood sugar readings near 200 – they should be under 90. And then my body is trying to catch up all day and I’m injecting a LOT of insulin all day long, only to start the cycle again the next morning. Starting tonight, I’ll take 60 units right before bed and another 60 first thing in the morning. Fingers crossed. 
 
That’s all for now. Here’s a fun bump comparison, 20 weeks to 30 weeks. Pretty big difference, no wonder I can’t find shirts that fit!!!
 
 
 
Leave a Reply

