Baby Pabst (weeks 4-6)

This is a series of blog posts I thought I would never write. I know most people don’t start writing posts or even talking about their pregnancy until week 12, but this is our very last pregnancy and I want to enjoy every single day…remind me of that in March. If something were to happen, I’m the type of person who wants to talk about my feelings and if no one knew what had happened and I had to hold it all in, it would be 5 million times harder to deal with. So even though I’m only 6 weeks, I have this feeling of peace that everything is and will continue to be fine. I have 0 reason to believe anything is wrong so I have 100 reasons to be happy and enjoy it all. 

It all started about 2 weeks ago, we had just come back from vacation and I just wasn’t feeling right. I chocked it up to PMS because every feeling I had was how I normally feel when my period is about to start. On Wednesday of that week, I still hadn’t started, nor did I have any spotting or anything that usually happens the day of or after my period should start. We had a couple of errands to run, so I bought a cheap test and assumed it would be negative and I would probably start later that day. The test had such a faint positive, that I was sure my eyes were tricking me so I threw it away. The next day I still hadn’t started, so I bought a different test and this happened: 

Still in denial, I sat there staring and shaking my head…was this really happening?! I decided that I was going to wait a few more days and by Monday if I hadn’t started my period, I was going to go buy a more expensive test – the same one I bought with my previous 3 pregnancies…within a minute, we had this.


I called my OB’s office and got my first appointment for 6 weeks and 1 day. 


At 5 weeks, I had a few more symptoms creep up, but nothing too severe and yay no morning sickness.  And as of Sunday, I’m 6 weeks…which brings me current!


I had my first appointment yesterday, and it was so fun to walk into the office and see all the same people (even though it’s been 5 years since my last delivery). My weight hasn’t changed over the last 2 months and my blood pressure which has been high the past year was actually normal. I was ecstatic! After chatting it up with the Dr, he ordered some blood work and scheduled an ultra sound for next Monday. I’ll be 7 weeks and 1 day, so we should be able to see a tiny little baby and heartbeat…not gonna lie, I’m really excited!!


So, that’s where we are now. I always wake up feeling pretty crappy, but once I wake up, shower and get something to eat, the nausea goes away. I’m starting to get a few food aversions, like just thinking about eggs right now is making my stomach turn and like every other pregnancy, chicken also makes me want to puke.

Leave a Reply

