5K

Finally over this ridiculous head/chest cold I’ve been battling for a few days. While I was taking a break from the gym, I had some time to think about my fitness goals. I never, in a million years thought that I would be in a place where I could train for and run a race…but here I am. The campground that we spend most of our summer, was my Dad’s favorite place to be. Though he only went a couple of seasons before he passed away, he loved it so much. In fact, he passed away on a Tuesday on his way to get some things for the camper to open it just a few days later. The owners of the campground contacted our family that year and mentioned the town was opening a bike/walk path and the day it opened, there was going to be a big party and a 5K and asked if it would be ok if one of the owners ran that race in memorial of my Dad. This will be the 3rd year and that memorial 5K still happens every year on Father’s Day. I will be running it this year. I’m not sure if I’ll be dead last, or somewhere in the middle, but the point is, I’m going to be doing it. 


Today was day 1 of my training and I ended up walking more than running, but I felt SO free and light and happy when I was running. Who the heck am I?!

On the way home, I tried another new Quest Nutrition bar and once again, I adored this flavor!


This one is on my top 3 flavors for sure! I’m not even joking when I tell you this bar tasted like a buttered, delicious cinnamon roll. 

Breakfast:


It was like the perfect tri-fecta of breakfast happiness. Scrambled eggs with feta cheese, bowl of fruit


And an english muffin.


The sidekick and I had some errands to run and because he was being such a good boy and an awesome helper, I treated him to lunch. We both had Subway and it was delicious as always. 

Dinner: 

Nothing fancy, just some baked chicken, vegetables (that pile was way bigger while I was cooking!) and a Chobani Bite for “dessert.”


Leave a Reply

