Snow Day!

I woke up this morning knowing how much snow fell last night and thinking I could still make it out and to the gym this morning. I just laughed when I walked outside, turned around and went right back to bed. There was SO much snow that by the time I would have cleared off my van and braved the roads, it would have been a 5 minute workout and I would have had to come back home. About 3 minutes later I got an email that school was cancelled for the day, so I climbed back in bed, played on my phone for awhile and then read this book that I can not book down! It’s called Heartsick and I’m about 100 pages into it, SO good! If you love a good mystery/thriller, this one is for you. 

After everyone woke up, I made eggs, toast and fruit for us all.


Two eggs scrambled in coconut oil, topped with feta cheese; kiwi and toast on the side. After that, it was time to go shovel the driveway.


You never realize how long your driveway is until it’s time to shovel it. It doesn’t look like much snow, but it was heavy, wet and hard to move. Towards the end it was like trying to push shovels of cement, my arms are so incredibly sore right now, I’ve already decided tomorrow will be lower body day instead of upper body like I originally planned. My oldest decided he wanted to help, so we finished off the rest of it…so much easier with two people!


Even though I couldn’t get to the gym, I still managed to burn 481 calories in 45 minutes, I call that success!


Thankfully our power stayed on during the storm, and now we have the whole afternoon to relax, get some laundry done and other cleaning things I want to finish before going to the cub scout blue and gold banquet tonight.


16 thoughts on “Snow Day!

  1. Ugh, shoveling snow is NO joke! We don't get much down here in Tennessee, but a few years ago, I had my first experience…I think I got a quarter of my driveway done before I was totally spent! Luckily my neighbor came by with his riding lawn mower equipped with this gigantic shoveling thing and cleared off the rest for me! Still, I could barely lift my arms to wash my hair or feed myself for like THREE days! Lol

    Breakfast looks delicious! I need to pair feta cheese with eggs more often!

  2. Yes! Last year on March 1st, it was almost 80 degrees here! I'm not really a fan of hot temps or summer, so the fact we are having a real winter this year makes me crazy happy 🙂

Leave a Reply

