Thank You, Chalene and Turbo Fire!

{by Tara}
As most of you know, my exclusive, go-to, choice of exercise for the last year or so has been running.  When I was training for my marathon, I felt like I had kind of maxed out, even though I wasn’t getting any faster.  I did lose 30 pounds as well, and I was getting a little bit faster but still wasn’t where I wanted to be.  Every muscle in my legs was so tight and sore, massages helped but I knew I needed some yoga.  I have no time anymore to go to the gym, run, work, etc–so going to yoga class was out.  I needed something to do in the morning, when my husband is at work and everyone else is sleeping.  Jen has talked and talked and talked about Turbo Fire (hehe) and was mentioning the stretching and yoga that is part of the program.  The Turbo Fire program went on sale almost a month ago, so I ordered it and decided to give it a try.  I have never really stuck with an exercise schedule like Turbo Jam or Turbo Fire.  I’ve just always determined my own schedule.  I got the Turbo Fire box in the mail and decided to start the very next day.  During the first class, I thought, “holy crap!  What have I gotten myself into?”  “I hate this crap”, “Shut the hell up”, etc. I think I had to stop like 50 times to catch my breath.  But, I was determined not to quit.  Guess what?  The second time, it was a little easier.  Now, I am well into the third week and I am feeling good.  Don’t get me wrong.  This program is HARD.  However, what keeps me going is the challenge.  I have learned to get inside my head and push myself harder when I want to quit.  My average running pace has decreased almost 2 minutes per mile.  I ran a 10k race on Thanksgiving and I PR’d–BY 5 MINUTES!!!!!!! I feel so awesome.  I am doing Turbo Fire 6 days a week, and running 3-4 times per week.  Yes, I do 2 workouts a day sometimes.  Yes.  I am tired.  But yes.  I feel awesome.  I love the high intensity workouts, the music, and Chalene’s energy.  I also am SO motivated by the ladies in the video who have awesome bodies.  Seeing them makes me want to bust my hump and get some results!  I need to weigh myself, but when that alarm goes off at 445 in the morning, I have to get out of my room and get to it, or I will go back to bed.  I also refuse to weigh myself after drinking 60 ounces of water!  My clothes are fitting better but it isn’t a drastic change.  I do want to lose weight, but right now I feel so good, the number on the scale isn’t bugging the crap out of me.  If someone is looking for a way to increase their cardio performance and endurance, turbo fire is definitely it.  It is not a program for someone who is just starting their fitness journey, so it isn’t a great beginner video.  I will continue to post along this journey.  I am committed to completing this program!

One thought on “Thank You, Chalene and Turbo Fire!

Leave a Reply

