Marathon Training Week 12

Holy crap!  Week 12 already? Only 6 weeks to go until the big day.  This week of training was actually pretty good.  I felt strong all week.  Monday I ran 5 miles, Tuesday was 5 miles I think during lunch and 4 after work, Wednesday was 5 miles on the treadmill, and Friday was a “short” 12 miler.  I think I was most happy with Friday’s run.  First of all, it was a perfect day for running:  a cool 72 degrees, cloudy, and drizzling a little bit.  The weather was a definite change from the 85+, sunny, hot and nasty weather we have been having.  I cranked out the 12 miles on pace with my pr half marathon time, I was pretty happy with that.  I just wish I was a little faster so that I did not feel like my long runs were taking up my entire day.  I am definitely getting faster each run, I’m just not sure how much faster I should actually be getting.  I read somewhere that for every 10 pounds you lose, you get a minute faster.  Well, I’m not sure if it is due to my increasing mileage or my weight loss, but I am getting a few seconds faster on my average per mile pace each run.

Total mileage for week 12:  31 miles

 

Here is picture of me on July 31.  We were going out to dinner for our wedding anniversary (8 years!)  Sorry for the mess, but hey, I’m real like that.  My daughter’s room has the only full length mirror in the house, so I always go in there to take pictures like this.  She is 5 and a total troll 😦

Shirt: Old Navy

Jeans: Vera Wang (Kohl’s)

Wedge sandals:  Steve Madden

 

And this is last night, before we went out to dinner for DH birthday:

Shirt:  Nordstrom

Jeans: Seven 7

Wedges: Steven by Steve Madden

Side view:

I think I’m about 13 pounds lighter now than on July 31. Not too shabby, huh?  I know I have a ways to go, but I’m happy with my progress.

4 thoughts on “Marathon Training Week 12

Leave a Reply

