Marathon Training, Weeks 8, 9, and 10

Week 8 was a total fail.  I’ve been interviewing for a new job (more on that later), and I do my longish run on Tuesday and the really long run on Friday. I had to go to Santa Monica on Tuesday for the interview, and I had so much other stuff to take care of that I did not get to do the long run on Friday either.  I think I did two 3 mile runs the entire week.  Sometimes, life happens.  I was really pissed off at myself but there was just *NO* time to get a long run in.  My foot was also still really hurting me (good news, it’s FINALLY better).

Week 9 was better.  I think that taking most of the week off before actually did me good.  My legs felt fresh and I was killing it on all the 3 mile runs.  I did a 3 mile run Monday, a 6 mile run on Tuesday, a 3 mile run on Wednesday, and Friday, I did an 8 mile run.  The training plan called for 10 miles.  I was actually planning on running a half marathon (just the distance, not a race) because I had missed that distance from week 8.  However, I had to take my mom, step-dad, and grandma to the airport, I was late starting my run, and so due to time constraints, I was only able to go 8 miles.  I actually felt great for all the runs, my pace is definitely improving, as well as the distance that I can run without having to walk or stop.

Here are some pictures from my run on Wednesday.  I work in Newport Beach, and there are so many good places to run there, that are flat.  An added bonus is that it is usually 15 degrees cooler there than where I live.  I ran around Balboa Island that day.  It was a beautiful day, not too hot, sun was shining.  The huge houses and great views are a distraction but I still had a good run.

The concrete sidewalk goes all the way around the island.  This is a view up the channel that goes out to the Pacific Ocean.

This is easily my favorite house on the island.  Casa Revilo.  It is huge, and I just love it.  I need to win the lottery so I can have a hope of ever buying it.  About 5 years ago, my husband and I were walking the island and saw that the guest apartment that is in the upstairs back of the house was for rent….for 5 thousand a month.

This dinosaur always cracks me up so I took a picture to share here.  It is in someone’s front yard!

July 31 was my 8 year wedding anniversary.  I bought a groupon a few weeks ago for fondue, and wanted to go there for the special day.  Well, they don’t open until 4, I thought I would have no trouble getting a reservation, but they were full for the evening. I was so sad.  We ended up going to the Cheesecake Factory.  It was bomb.  I had the chicken jambalaya pasta.  Mmmmm.  One of my favorites.

I just finished week 10 training yesterday.  Monday was 3 miles, Tuesday was 7 miles, Wednesday was 4 miles, and yesterday was 15 brutal miles, for an all time high (for me) of 29 miles in 5 days.  The weather has been really hot, in the mid-90s all week.  I have been guzzling water like crazy every time I run, and dripping sweat like mad.  I hate wearing tank tops when I run, but it has been so hot that I have had no choice.  I hate my fat sausage arms.

Before I left for my run, in my nice, cool, air conditioned office

After said run

And I got some new socks!  It’s the simple things, I tell ya….those dark things are not leggings, they are my Zensah compression sleeves.  They are so hot to wear when I run, but if I don’t wear them, I am in so much pain that I can’t keep going.

Yesterday’s 15 mile run was quite the debacle.  I made to about 5.5 miles, then my mom called me.  I need to stop running with my phone, I swear.  I talked to her for 5 minutes, and when I started running again, my legs felt so heavy.  I should have walked while talking, but I am a dumbass.  Then, because it was so hot, I was afraid that I was going to run out of water.  I remembered that there was a liquor store a little off the trail around mile 7, so I hit that for a coconut water and another huge bottle of water to put in my camelbak.  I also pounded 3 shot blocks and rested for a little while because I felt like I was going to pass out.  I went another 4 miles but then I got the runner’s trots and had to find a bathroom ASAP.  Luckily, there was another drinking fountain so I filled up the camelbak again.  Around 13 miles, I hit a major wall.  I was so done mentally.  If I could have gotten someone to come pick me up, I would have.  But, there was no one, so I kept going, and made it to 15 miles.  Keep in mind also, by this point it was 90 degrees outside.  Baking. I got back to my car, cranked the air, dripped sweat everywhere, and was so proud of myself for finishing.  I had a salad with shrimp for dinner, and because my husband is the bomb, he brought home cupcakes.  I inhaled mine so fast I didn’t even think to take a picture.

Sorry for the lengthy post, but I have to document this all so that if I ever decide to run a marathon again, I will read these posts and talk myself out of it.

5 thoughts on “Marathon Training, Weeks 8, 9, and 10

  1. Pingback: Apologies! « Healthy Food and Family

Leave a Reply

