Still Kinda Struggling

Thank you all so much for your kind words last Monday. I swear, it must be some Monday funk or depression. How does the song go (I’m totally dating myself here)? “Rainy days and Mondays always get me down”? I received a couple of comments before it was time to go running. One of them really stuck with me and that was that it sounded like I had already talked myself out of running. I HAD. I totally had just justified my excuse. The bottom line is excuses are not going to get me across the finish line for my marathon.
This week is already going to be insane and is going to require a huge amount of juggling on my part to get my 4 runs in. I should have gone today at lunch, but I am lame. I forgot my socks and the socks I wear for work always fall down in my shoes and then I get really bad blisters. We just joined the YMCA last week and I really like the gym, so I figured I would go there later tonight and use the treadmill. I completely forgot that I have this stupid work meeting tonight. I think I will go home, make some pancakes for the kids and husband, go the meeting, and then go to the gym. My husband will be mad but it must be done. Tomorrow, I am supposed to run 4 miles and I’m not sure when I will find time to squeeze that in. Son gets out of school early, he has a doctor’s appointment, husband has something tomorrow night….yeah. I may just have to take advantage of the free child care at the Y so I can use the treadmill again. Wednesday I will run at lunch, no problem. Friday is another problem. I can’t leave my step-daughter and my son home alone together as they do not get along…but both of them belong to the Y as well. I think I will just take both of them with me. Yes. That will be great. See why I love blogging? Problem solving for me and entertaining rambling for you.

Last week started out slow as far as motivation goes, but I finished the week strong. Monday I did end up running 3 miles on the treadmill, Tuesday I ran 3 miles around the lake, Wednesday I ran 3 miles on the treadmill, and Saturday morning I ran twice around the lake (6 miles) plus a little more (1 mile and some change). My mileage for the week was 16.34. I also did the elliptical for 45 minutes as well last Thursday. I really, really, really need to start using My Fitness Pal again. I’m Teepers1 if anyone uses the app and wants to add me. When I track my calories I feel so much better.

The weekend was not as bad as past weekends as far as food intake. It definitely left a lot to be desired but it was a mild improvement for me. Today hasn’t been horrible but hasn’t been fantastic. I have been drinking some water…and a little DC too. I’m wondering if taking some pictures of what I eat will help me get my portions under control. I will think about it.

I also really need to get my stress under control. We are undergoing a “hostile takeover” situation at work. I don’t know if I am going to have a job when said “takeover” is done. The job market for nurses (new grad nurses) is horrid. I actually graduated 2 years ago but stayed in my current position as a nurse. I hope to work in a hospital. Since I have no acute care experience, I have to do a new grad training course. Those positions are few and far between. A girl can hope…and try to make it happen. I still have 3 months to figure everything out. I am really hoping that things fall into place for me. I’ve worked at my job for 12 years. In addition to those 12 years, I have 6 additional years in other medical offices. I know I can do the job, I’m just not sure if that’s what I really want to do. My heart is in labor and delivery, mother baby, OB, and infertility.

One thought on “Still Kinda Struggling

  1. Hang in there Tara! Yep, it has to be hard when you have kids at home, husband to take care of etc. . . that’s why I don’t have any excuses because we are empty nesters. Is it possible to get up early and get your run out of the way before life gets in the way? Just wondering. πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

