Now THIS Is A Burger

I am a carnivore. I love to eat meat. I love hamburgers and steaks. Everything in moderation, right?
I belong to a couple of email groups and a week or so ago, someone asked where everyone’s favorite place to go for burgers was. My answer? My own back yard. If we go out for burgers, I do like Red Robin or the Counter (local here in California only I think), but my favorite burger is the one that I make myself. My husband loves to brag to his friends that I make the best hamburgers. Of course, he is completely biased.
Since I started running again, I’ve been totally craving burgers. Horrible. Tonight, we had burgers. Here is my masterpiece.

What makes my burger so special, you ask? I’m going to let you in on my secret. I use regular ground beef. Not pre-formed patties. 85-15 is the best for grilling. We have a 4 burner gas grill. I make the patties by hand, I like them HUGE. I season with salt and pepper and garlic powder, then sprinkle with Worcestershire sauce and liquid smoke. I pre-heat the grill to about 400 degrees and throw those bad boys on, about 10 minutes for the first side. Once I put the burgers on the grill, I turn the heat down. About 2 minutes before the burgers are done, I put the cheese on. I just can not have a hamburger without cheese. Tonight, we had Cabot Sharp White Cheddar. I toasted the bun for the last minute of cooking time.  I had some garlic herb spread that I made over the weekend, so I put a little on the bun, added some sauteed onions, and 2 pickle slices.  I am very picky about pickles!  They have to be Clausen (or the fresh kind that is in the deli case).  I can’t stand the cooked pickles, yuck.
Tonight, I also made oven-baked fries. I came across a recipe on pinterest a few months ago from Annie’s Eats for oven fries. These fries are so good! I sprinkled them with salt right when they came out from the oven. I thought they were missing something, so I added a little thyme as well. I don’t know why but I’m really liking the savory thyme flavor lately! Everything was perfection. I wanted to eat all of the fries but I was nice and saved some for my husband 🙂

As I mentioned in my previous post, I got a new toy. I’ve been wanting a new DSLR for about 2 years. I have had a Nikon D40 for about 5 years. Don’t get me wrong, I love my D40. I’ve taken 7000 pictures with it (this is totally NOT an exaggeration). I just wanted something that was a little more flexible and a little more advanced. The Nikon D40 has one drawback, and that is that the owner can only use special lenses with it that have the focusing motor in the lens instead of in the body of the camera. As you can imagine, these lenses are very pricey. After a lot of researching, gong to camera stores and trying things out, taking into account my budget, and making a crap ton of hats to pay for it, I ended up buying a Canon T2i. Of course, if I had no budget and oodles of money, I would have gotten a Canon 5D Mark II. Alas, it was not meant to be, and that camera is more than I really need. I’ve always been a Nikon girl but I really am loving this Canon. I’m still getting used to it, but I just uploaded my first batch of pictures and I can not believe how fantastic they are. I’m not a professional photographer by any means, I just want to be able to take good quality pictures of my kids, have memories of trips that we take, and take an occasional picture for the old blog 😉

 

 

I borrowed my friend’s “nifty 50” yesterday and took these pictures. It was my first time using a fixed length lens (AND my camera), so it took a little getting used to. I loved the lens though, and ordered one myself today.

5 thoughts on “Now THIS Is A Burger

  1. I love making burgers at home way more than getting one at a restaurant. I feel like restaurants use such fatty beef and they charge to much for extra toppings. I can put mushrooms, cheese, avocado, lettuce, etc without getting charged an extra buck each. I may not be able to fit it in my mouth but thats just a minor detail!

  2. That burger sounds incredible! I love a burger with Cabot White Sharp Cheddar too (regular- NOT light). Yum!
    I love Bragg’s liquid aminos in my burgers- it gives the best flavor. I add ground up portobella mushrooms to my meat to bulk it up- it’s awesome! (Even the hubby loves it)

Leave a Reply

