Tell Me Why I Don’t Like Mondays

Last week was a good week. I ran 3 times, for a total of 15 miles. I am feeling stronger. Unfortunately, I am only getting (a little) faster which is kind of crappy.
This week has been a little overwhelming. I have always hated Mondays since I was 10. I used to fake sickness so that I could skip school on Mondays. Unfortunately, my mom caught on fairly quickly. I don’t know why, but I just hate Mondays. So many things went wrong. Like, you know when you open a cupboard and everything falls out on your head? That’s how I felt. Everything that went wrong was minor, but it just all added up and took a toll on me. I don’t remember why but I had to skip my run during lunch on Monday, too. I think that when I skip runs, it makes me a little weaker mentally.
Tuesday morning, I woke up and thought, this *will* be a better day. I gathered up all my running gear and went to work. After work, I went to Newport Beach to run. It was so windy! This was my first time running into the wind, and my goodness, IT WAS SO HARD. I felt so lame because I pretty much walked almost the whole first half of my distance, which was like 2.5 miles. I tried to run but could not get strong enough mentally to keep going. Coming back was easier, thank goodness the wind was blowing at my back, almost pushing me. I went the whole 5 miles I had planned. I felt amazing after. I wish I could take the way I feel after a run and bottle it up, and take a sip when I don’t feel like running as a motivator to make me go again.
Today I had 3 miles on the schedule. Once again, I thought of 15 other things I would rather be doing. I did motivate myself and I went to the gym to run on the treadmill. I really hate the treadmill but I always push myself harder when I do a run on there because I really just want to get out of there! I did 3 miles in 39 minutes which I know is pretty slow, but I ran almost the whole thing (very slowly I might add) and I feel good. My average speed was 2 minutes a mile faster than anything I have done lately so it was not a wasted workout.
On the giving up Diet Coke front, ugh. I am definitely drinking less, and I am not drinking it every day. I would probably give it up completely if it made a difference in my leg cramps, but I am still having them. I am definitely drinking a lot of water so that is one good thing! I think drinking a lot of water is really helping me feel less yucky than when I quit before. I haven’t even had a headache!

Sorry for the lack of pictures in this post. I will try and post some later this week. I got a new camera and I’ve been taking a lot of pictures and trying to get used to it. More on the camera later, but I am IN LOVE!

5 thoughts on “Tell Me Why I Don’t Like Mondays

  1. Isn’t it funny how running feels SO hard when you’re doing it, but then you get an amazing feeling when you’re done?! I wish I could bottle it up too! I’d pull it out on the days when I have trouble getting my butt in gear!

  2. Go you for getting that run in anyways!

    Doesn’t it feel incredible especially when you didn’t want to/thought you couldn’t do it/didn’t want to do it but did it anyway? Awesome!

    Ooh gadgets! What kind of camera did you get?

  3. ps. I’ve never really introduced myself to you Tara but I’ve been reading since Jen introduced you on the blog! I love that you guys are doing this together! 🙂

Leave a Reply

