Roasted Broccoli Slaw

Yesterday afternoon I was reading blogs and came across a meal changing recipe on Stuft Mama.

DSC_0343

This my friends is roasted broccoli slaw and it was hands down the best part of my dinner last night.  I put it in a small roasting pan sprayed with pam and then sprinkled with sea salt, pepper, garlic and onion and cooked at 375 for 10 minutes, stirred and then another 10 minutes. I topped it with leftover marinara sauce from dinner the other night and seriously wanted 3x the amount of this!

DSC_0341

Served alongside steak and a baked potato, the slaw was the star of dinner.

I was up bright and early this morning after being up a few times last night, and I was just not feeling the workout this morning. I did it, but my legs just felt heavy and every time I tried to go faster, I got a cramp in my side. The last 5 minutes felt like an eternity today! I’m blaming it on the fact that I slept pretty crappy last night…it’s going to be a long day.

tn

As my brother posted on Facebook this morning, it smells like summer this morning!!

DSC_0347

The sun is shining, it’s going to be in the mid 50’s today, but summer is a long way off…we are supposed to get snow tonight. I wish I could be excited, but it’s been such a mild winter, I want it to stay that way and go right to spring.

Want to guess what I had for breakfast this morning?

DSC_0346

I was starving and this was the quickest meal I could cook and eat! At least I strayed from the standard banana and had strawberries instead.

DSC_0348

Any fun plans for today? My 2 oldest have the day off from school for parent/teacher conferences. I have one this morning and one this afternoon and then home to do some spring cleaning. I fully intend on having some windows open this afternoon and letting some fresh air in. Have a great day!!!

17 thoughts on “Roasted Broccoli Slaw

  1. Love your polar!!! Ive been wanting one, and that red one is the exact one I want!! How do you like it? Im just worried the just band might drive me nuts!

    • I absolutely love it! I wear it no matter what type of exercise I’m doing: cardio, weights, yoga and love watching that calorie burn number go higher and higher!! I honestly don’t even notice the band is on anymore, sometimes I forget until I get home from the gym and then take it off. The one thing I wish it did was calculate mileage and tell me how far I’m walking, but that’s the only complaint I have.

  2. Ha- we have p/t conferences too! Unfortunately as a teacher, that means I still have to be at school.
    That dinner looks amazing and I want to try the roasted slaw SO bad. I might have to haul all the way to TJs just to buy some… or maybe I can just try to make my own…

    • Good luck with the conferences! My 1st grader’s went perfectly, now have the 4th grade one this afternoon.
      You can buy broccoli slaw at pretty much any grocery store, near the coleslaw and other lettuce mixes.

  3. What? Why haven’t I thought of roasting broccoli slaw? I am actually making grilled tuna sandwiches for dinner – its Lent so we are meatless on Fridays – I already made an asian slaw to go with it, but I’ll definitely give this a try.

    Happy Friday!

  4. I recently discovered broccoli slaw and totally love it, but found it gets a little boring on its own after awhile. This is a great way to spice it up, great idea! Can’t wait to try it!

  5. Pingback: Daylight Savings Weekend « Oatmeal after Spinning

  6. Pingback: Daylight Savings Weekend | Oatmeal after Spinning

Leave a Reply

