Mamavation Monday

It’s been so long since I’ve posted a Mamavation Monday post, I had someone check on me last week asking if I was coming back. It has also been one month since I pretty much gave up. I gained a lot of weight starting a birth control pill and then when I went off of it, I started my period the following day, then had about a week and then had the worst PMS, bloating and a real period that started shortly after that. I spent most of last week on the couch not able to move, because every time I did…it was bad news. I gave in to too much the last month or so and have just been way too easy on myself. It all came to a point last night when my mom and husband pretty much told me I have to do something. I have been loosely trying, but whenever it gets tough, I give up and give in to old / bad habits and it has to stop.

I am loving my gym membership and it’s the best money I’ve spent in a very long time, but as the saying goes “You can’t out train a bad diet.” I put that theory to the test, and it’s true…so very true. I’ve basically wasted my time at the gym the past couple of weeks – and I didn’t go at all last week – because I have been eating like absolute CRAP every single day. I’ve been so embarassed to do anything, because I have gained back everything I lost when I was on weight watchers…and more. In all fairness, I just weighed myself, I’m dressed, have already had two meals today…but no more excuses. It is what it is, and it’s not pretty.

DSC_0321

Just in case you can’t read that, it says 215.8 which is horrifying. I can’t believe this. I hate the way I feel. I’m out of breath, I’m exhausted all the time, I eat like crap, I drink way too much diet coke, I hardly drink water, I eat too much fast food and not enough vegetables.

And I just realized I have on two different socks. Awesome.

I have made a choice to go on a Dr. approved program. For the next 7 days, I’m supposed to add in two cups of vegetables to lunch and dinner and also add in fresh fruits as well. I’m also supposed to drink at least 64oz of water and keep exercising. Next week, I will start the official program which concentrates on lean proteins, vegetables, whole grains and healthy fats. The best part is that, it requires little to no thinking on my part. I will be given a list of foods to eat and a list of foods to eat in moderation. I will be given meal plans and a shopping list as well. I used to think that a plan that told me what to eat, how much, etc would drive me crazy, but I have realized it’s exactly what I need. The absolute hardest part for me right now is to be surrounded by foods, and I love the simplicity of being able to prep all of my food for a week and just grab what I need to eat at any point during the day.

And now for the Mamavation Monday question for today!

What steps have you made so far this year to improve your quality of life?

I joined a gym a few weeks ago and I’m working on the eating portion of losing weight. I realize that no matter how hard I work out, I need to control my eating as well.

“This post is sponsored by Mamavation – a community dedicated to obesity prevention & weight loss for women and I’m writing this to be entered into a giveaway”

16 thoughts on “Mamavation Monday

  1. Welcome back darlin… you can do this and we are all here to help. Just remember, its not about all the attempts before that resulted in failure, it’s about the times you stood back up stronger. Here if you need anything 🙂

  2. I wish we lived near each other! We could lose together. Sometimes I feel like it’s easier to have someone to go through it with. Someone to motivate you. Which is why I blog. My trainer has me doing weight training 2 days a week for 30 minutes and the other 30 minutes doing cardio. Then the other 4 days a week I do an hour of cardio. I’ve never worked out so much in my life but I’ve lost 12lbs in a month. My workout routine is keeping me accountable for the food I eat. I don’t want to waste the hard workouts (that I hate) on eating crappy food. Not worth it! Keep going girl! 🙂

  3. Welcome back! The best part about this community is, the door is always open and we don’t have long memories… just what you are doing today to live you best. Join in cause we are all here to support you and watch you succeed. 🙂

    Oh, the socks? Happens to the best of us. I tend to open the door to UPS with blemish cream on my face… that is also just, awesome.

  4. Jen – you got this! Try to just make each day the best you can – if you slip up, tomorrow is a new day and a clean slate.

    I used to be a member of the all or nothing club. I would say “I’ll work out 90 minutes a day, eat 1500 calories, strength train, balance my check book every day, keep my house clean” etc. The second one of those balls fell to the ground, I’d get pissed and let them all drop.

    Baby steps. Let one day be the day you get the 64 ounces of water. Then maybe the next day add a couple cups of veggies – build up slowly and you will find success. Don’t look back, don’t look forward – just make today a great one! 😀 Hugs!

    • That’s exactly what I’m doing! I know that I can’t do everything perfectly all at once, so this week is about building habits and I’m learning that I will never be perfect. Today I’m working on the water and adding in more fresh foods instead of processed crap that I’ve been eating. Tomorrow I will be adding in a bit more.

  5. It’s kinda like adjusting to life with a new baby. You just try to accomplish one little thing each day and slowly add on. You can do this. I find the de-crapification of your diet to be hardest the first few days and then the cravings start to go away. I drink hot tea like mad when the cravings hit. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

