Where I’ve Been

Warning, this has some period talk, so be warned.

After my 3rd child was born, my periods started getting really heavy and clotty. The more weight I gained, the worse they got. I went for my yearly check up last Tuesday and after discussing things with my doctor, he suggested I start on a birth control pill that would help lessen the flow and duration of my periods…I was so happy! He gave me a sample package and I took one that day, over the next few days I had some very unpleasant side effects and the longer I was on the pills, the worse I felt. Monday was my breaking point. I had gained nearly a pound or more every day since starting the pill, I would alternate staring into space, screaming and yelling or just crying and just generally felt like garbage. I called my doctor who advised I stop taking them and I should start feeling normal by the weekend. I ended up gaining more weight tuesday and wednesday and then wednesday night I started my period. Oddly enough, when I woke up Thursday I felt better than I had in days and today I feel even better!

I can’t believe how bad these pills messed with me and I only took them for a week!!! A week! I’m not sure what my next step is going to be, but it’s not going to involve birth control pills.

My house is a disaster because I really haven’t done much of anything over the past week and a half and my youngest is having his birthday party here tomorrow. Now that I’m feeling like myself again, I’ve been cleaning and organizing all morning long. Ahhhh…normalcy!

Hope you all have a great weekend!!

xoxo

8 thoughts on “Where I’ve Been

  1. Birth control pills have a CRAZY effect on most women. It’s amazing that those tiny little pills can control so much!
    I’ve been on the pill since I was 18, and went off it about 2 years ago. And for a year, I never got my period. I finally went to the doc about it, and discovered that my body had STOPPED producing estrogen (which was due to my crazy exercise addiction). I had to go back on the pill just to get a period. I need to go off soon, because it’s time to start thinking about baby-makin’ and hope that my period actually comes.
    So sorry you had such a bad experience with the pills, I hope that you get something figured out soon!
    Isn’t being a woman FUN?!

  2. I can’t believe it had that crazy effect on you! I am on birth control and I believe it’s causing me to have really bad headaches with my period this week.

    I do appreciate getting my period only every three months though because I used to just be miserable every time of the month.

  3. At the age of 25 I was diagnosed with PCOS & thankfully the Depo shot has been my saving grace without the shot my period would just continue on Non-Stop for months on end. It seems my body doesn’t know when to stop. I hope you the Dr. can find something for you so you have some relief.

  4. I honestly can NOT take birth control because they make a freaking looney bin! So I feel ya .. I’m glad your feeling better though! It’s so crazy how a little tiny pill can mess with you so much.

  5. I can’t take the pill anymore either…it used to make my skin so much better but I had terrible side effects with regards to dry eyes, etc. I feel much better since going off of it! Glad that you do as well.

  6. I’ve been on birth control for most of the last 16 years, and I hate it. I am about to pick up a copy of the book “Taking Charge of Your Fertility” that teaches the fertility awareness method with hopes that I can get off the pill. So sorry you’ve had to deal with all of this!

Leave a Reply

