Progress

I’ve been lifting weights lately and when I did a particular weights DVD, I would only use my 5lb weights because I thought more than that would be too much. I’m on a mission to stop babying myself and to push a little harder every day and today when I did the DVD, I decided to do exactly what they were lifting instead of modifying it and only doing 5lbs.

DSC_0182

What a difference! There was one set where I have only been lifting 5lbs, but today she was using 25lbs and since I only have weights (for now) up to 10lbs, I went for it. I could actually feel the muscles I was working. I think 25lbs would still be too much for me, but I for sure don’t need to stay doing 5lbs anymore!

I still have a long way to go, but today I proved to myself that I’m capable of doing anything I want. Anything I put my mind to.

11 thoughts on “Progress

  1. It’s amazing when all of sudden you realize you can handle more weight. It will keep going up. I recently was able to do full unassisted push ups easily and I was completely surprised even though I’d been working at it 🙂

  2. Doesn’t it feel SO good to be able to increase your weights?? Muscle is a great way to burn off baby weight too because it keeps on burning calories after. I am up using 40lbs on my chest presses and legs, and it feels so good to be that strong! 🙂

  3. Wow that’s awesome!! I definitely tend to underestimate what I can do with weights. It’s true though, we can handle a lot more than we think!! Way to go!

Leave a Reply

