Confession

I’ve been a little quiet lately, because there’s something I need to talk about, but didn’t really know how to bring it up. Before anyone jumps to any conclusion, NOT PREGNANT. That ship has sailed, I have an appointment tomorrow morning to finalize my plans for permanent birth control and I can’t wait.

My confession: I quit Weight Watchers. It’s something I’ve thought a lot about, but didn’t want to make any decisions until I completed 3 months. Now that I have, I am no longer a member. The one thing I’ll miss? The meetings. It’s much, much easier for me to count calories than points and I found a website for tracking my calories, but I’m really going to miss the weekly meetings. I don’t want to start bashing Weight Watchers, because I really believe like it saved me back in October. I was lost and didn’t know what to do and I was given direction and now it’s time to take that direction and go on my own journey to greatness.

I feel a lot better now that this is all out in the open. There are millions of people who aren’t going to support my decision and defend weight watchers to their death and that’s fine. You don’t need to tell me I’m wrong, I’ve made a decision and I’m at peace with it.  If anyone uses the website My Fitness Pal, please feel free to friend me.

Exercise has been pretty non-existent the last few days, I’m over the cold and sore throat, but had the worst chest cough and it was horrible when I over – exerted myself so I took a few days off. I’m more than ready to jump back in with both feet tomorrow morning!!!

Here are some breakfasts for the past few days:

Peanut Butter Chia Toast and a grapefruit

DSC_0161

And a Honey Peanut Pretzel Luna bar that is SO freaking good!!!

DSC_0162

With strawberries

DSC_0163

I’ve been using Windows Live Writer since August and I just noticed while writing this post the different photo options for colors and frames, too fun!!

26 thoughts on “Confession

  1. Good job on making a decision for YOU. If it wasn’t for you, it wasn’t for you. There’s no need to justify it to absolutely anyone. Only you know what’s best for you.

    I know you are strong, and determined and inspired(and inspiring if I may say so). We all have off days but the important thing is to start tomorrow with the attitude that healthy living is what you are all about.

    I applaud your decision and look forward to the success you achieve all by yourself!!!

  2. (hug) I had to quit WW due to $$ issues and I was planning on re-joining WW too but those $$ issues have still not gone so I’m keeping the status quo. I’ve been “trying” to do MyFitnessPal since November. It’s not easy and like you, I miss the meetings the most.

    I agree with everyone tho. You have to do what you feel is best for you. As long as you keep at it and never give up, then you will absolutely reach your goal!

    I’ve been trying to find other friends on MyFitnessPal, so you’ll be my first! EEK!

    ps. Love Windows LW!

  3. It’s your decision on what tools you use to lose weight – I might have to give it up just because of the $$. I haven’t talked about it on the blog, but between you and me my husband has been out of work for over 2 years and no longer gets unemployment.

    At my job I had last spring, I had a $2,000 deductible, which we met by the end of February with Tony’s colon cancer. Sadly, when my law firm blew up, I was uninsured for 3+ months, couldn’t afford cobra, so we had to pay retail for our medications – $200 a box for on of my insulins alone!. So when he had hernia surgery in December, we had to pay another $2,000 out of pocket.

    Then with this last hospital stay, we are in the new year, so that’s another $2,000 deductible – I guess the good news is that it isn’t even the end of January and we’ve met our deductible for the year!

    Do not apologize to anyone your decisions – its your life!

  4. I NEED to try that flavor luna bar…looks amazing! My fitness pal is an awesome tool and you can link it to a mobile device which gives you tons of flexibility. Don’t be so hard on yourself for giving up WW, you can always go back to it if you want 🙂

  5. Good for you for finding something that will suit your lifestyle better. I think I would miss the meetings/community too!

    I need to try that luna bar. It sounds really good and I should break away from my chocolate peppermint stick haha.

  6. I did a million things to lose my weight, and when you find what works with you, you’ll know it, the groove you’ll get in will work well for you and your family. It’s not easy to be fit, it’s not easy to be a mom, it’s not easy to have special needs kids, it’s not easy to be a chick. But just making the choices and choosing well is what you need to do, and you know in your heart what is good and right for you 🙂 Awesome post.

  7. First of all, I have to address this Luna Bar. Where can I get one to try?!?!?!

    Secondly, you have to do what you have to do! I actually started using MyFitnessPal, not to lose weight, but to make sure I was getting all of my nutrients AND to plug in recipes for nutritional stats. I really like it! Good luck. 🙂

  8. You have to do what works for you. If anyone criticizes you for quitting Weight Watchers, they should be ashamed. It’s not anyone else’s business how you choose to get healthy.
    I have a very love/hate relationship with WW. Unlike you, I really don’t benefit much from the meetings, because I feel like my issues with food and exercise are so different than the majority of other people. But, I love the online tracking because it helps me stay accountable.
    However, the thing that makes me MOST accountable has been documenting every single thing I consume with my camera phone. No one sees it but me, but it helps for some reason!
    I often wonder if just doing that is enough- if I don’t really need to track everything online. I might try it and see.
    But anyway- you’re awesome and if this new system helps- then go for it! Know that you have a ton of support out there.
    AND. I need to find those Luna bars ASAP. I’ve never seen that flavor and will be scoping out Target for them!!

Leave a Reply

