Happy 7th Birthday Karlie

Hard to believe that it’s been 7 years since my baby girl was born. I shared the birth story of my oldest back in September, so it’s only fitting I share her birth story now.

After my first horrible pregnancy and labor and delivery, I was not looking forward to repeating the same experience. When I found out I was pregnant, my OB and I decided that if I wanted to, I was an excellent candidate for a VBAC (Vaginal Birth After C-Section), I did a lot of research and decided that I would give it a try. We were only concerned about her being too big, Tyler was born at 37 weeks and was 8lbs 12oz and I couldn’t deliver him, so together my OB and I decided that if I hadn’t gone into labor naturally by 39 weeks, he would induce.

At 36 weeks and 1 day, I woke up around 1am to minor contractions. At 2am, I could no longer sleep in between them so I went to watch TV and start timing them. Since I was having a VBAC, I needed to be heavily monitored so once my contractions were 15 minutes apart for an hour, I was to come in. By 4am, they were very consistent and about 20 minutes apart, but of course it was also the start of a snow storm, so we headed to the hospital. Tyler had stayed the night at my parent’s house so thankfully we didn’t have to worry about taking him anywhere in the middle of the night. We got to the hospital (normally a 15 minute drive) in about an hour because of the snow and the contractions were really strong by that point and really close together.  Side note – I haven’t thought about this night in a few years and it’s quite amazing that I recall all of these details so vividly!!! When we arrived, I had already been on the phone with my OB who had alerted the hospital. They had a wheel chair waiting for me and took me straight to triage…and then I stood up and my water broke. They checked me and I was almost 6cm so I was sent to a room and hooked up to the monitors…I remember someone telling me that if I wanted an epidural now was the time, because my labor was really progressing fast. Thank heavens I listened and got the epidural immediately. After that, things slowed down and I was able to rest for a couple of hours. I fell asleep a little before 6am. At 8am, I woke up feeling this crazy, intense pressure and after being checked again, I was 10cm and could start pushing.

The next part is a memory burned into my brain and sometimes I wish it wasn’t so vivid…

The time was 10:30am, I had been pushing for nearly 2.5 hours and she wasn’t budging. They had me in every position imaginable and her head wasn’t passing under my pubic bone. At that point, even though the epidural was working it’s magic, I felt this almost tearing sensation around the area of my first c-section incision. I told the nurse who, ran to get my OB and that’s when the bleeding started. He walked in the room and there was blood everywhere, and they thought my uterus had ruptured. My OB looked me in my eyes and said “We have to get you to the operating room. Now. You are losing a lot of blood.” I remember running and people yelling and someone putting an oxygen mask on me. I remember looking at the clock on the way out of my labor room and it was 10:47am. Next thing I knew, I was laying on an operating table praying my baby and myself would make it through this alive.

Karlie Lynn was born less than 5 minutes from the labor and delivery room to the operating room at 10:51am. They cut into me so fast that they knicked her cheek and she still has a scar.

Turns out that with every push, the placenta was tearing away from my uterus and was practically detached which caused all of the bleeding. She was on oxygen for a little bit, but then was placed safely in my arms while they worked on me. I lost a lot of blood, but my uterus was able to be saved.

It was a terrifying experience and I thank my lucky stars that both of us survived that day!!

One of my favorite pictures of Karlie and my Dad – she was about 8 months old here

28597_391256182410_507362410_4470608_8202828_n

Her and my Dad were two peas in a pod. He loved her so much and they were the best of friends. It makes me so sad that he isn’t here to watch her grow up, but I know that he loved and still loves her with all of his heart and she will always be his Karlie.

6829_164012007410_507362410_3226271_2189011_n

This was Karlie in 2009 and this is her now – well on Christmas

391894_10150434493742411_507362410_8714483_207033530_n

Happy Birthday my little princess!!!!

12 thoughts on “Happy 7th Birthday Karlie

  1. Happy birthday to your little girl!!
    It’s funny- you and I are the same age and I can’t IMAGINE having even one child- let alone three! Guess I have to start jumping on that baby train soon though…
    Reading about birth stories just sounds so scary to me… I have friends that have done natural and water births- I just can’t imagine!

  2. Happy Birthday Karlie! That picture of her and dad brought tears to my eyes. I’ve seen it before but I’ve been missing him so much lately and I think of how he must miss all of us, and it makes me sad.

Leave a Reply

