LHS 1998 Cheer Team Reunion

Once upon a time, I was a cheerleader (freshman-senior in high school). My senior year we had the best coach ever and even though she scared the living shizz out of us, we worked hard, worked as a team and had the best year of our lives.

Just in case you’re wondering, I’m in the back row 4th from the right. Those were the days!

KVC

Last night a group of us met up for dinner and it was the reunion of all reunions. We laughed and talked like we had just seen each other last week instead of 13 years ago.

DSC_0005 (4)

When we first arrived, we were told it would be a 3 hour wait (it was actually 2.5 hours), we found two tables by the bar and stood, sat, took pictures and talked until our table was ready.

DSC_0004 (3)

Our whole team couldn’t be there, but there was 7 of us and our coach who attended.

DSC_0009 (3)

To be honest, up until it was time to go, I was trying to think of an excuse to not go. I was so self-conscious and was embarassed over how much my body had changed in 13 years.

DSC_0011 (2)

But for the first time in a long time, my weight wasn’t an issue. These girls were just as amazing as the last time I saw them and all of my insecurities were wiped away. It was so weird to talk about our lives, our careers, our relationships and then laugh hysterically over things that we did while in high school.

After we finally got a table, we were looking at a photo album from our senior year and holy cow, it doesn’t seem like it was that long ago, but we looked like babies!!! And then we started talking about our old cheers and two remembered them and even remembered the motions that went with the words, it was awesome.

DSC_0010 (2)

Even though some have moved away and live out of state, and some of us live closer than we realized, it was a perfect night. I’m so glad that we have re-connected and that even though we don’t see each other all the time, our friendships have remained just as strong as they were 13 years ago.

15 thoughts on “LHS 1998 Cheer Team Reunion

  1. I love it! How fun for you to be able to do that. I was on the Dance team and because I moved away so long ago have missed out on so many get together/reunions with them. I am glad that you have those opportunities!

  2. That sounds like so much fun!! I hope to do something like this with my high school cross country team. I love those girls and I think we would get along just as well in the future!

  3. I too try to talk my way out of events like these…thinking that I won’t measure up to people’s expectations! Glad that you went and had a good time. Great pics Jen!

  4. So fun!! I didn’t go to my 10 year reunion because I had just found out I was pregnant and didn’t want to tell anyone just yet. They all would have known something was up if I wasn’t drinking so I didn’t go. But I kind of wish I had. Glad you had a good time, it’s great catching up with old friends.

  5. Pingback: The Best Chicken I Have Ever Made | Food, Family, Fitness

Leave a Reply

