Wicked

I can’t believe I haven’t posted about this yet! My Mom and I went to see this last Wednesday night.

Wicked

For years, I have been hearing how amazing this musical is and I have been wanting to see it so bad! My Mom bought us tickets as a Christmas gift to me and we went opening night at the Detroit Opera House.

OperaHouse

First, we had dinner at the Cadillac Café which is located inside of the opera house. We were up on the very top and had a gorgeous view of “Christmasfied” Detroit. It makes me so sad that the city is a place not many people go to anymore. The buildings have so much character and history and I loved seeing it lit up for Christmas. The restaurant had a special “Wicked” menu so we knew we had to go! Both of us had the caesar salad and herb roasted chicken with mashed potatoes and roasted vegetables for dinner. I didn’t bring my big camera because the website and the tickets stated no cameras, but I did manage to take one after dinner with my Blackberry.

IMG-20111207-00198

The show itself was as amazing as I had heard about. The music was phenomenal, I’m still singing to myself a week later! Truth be told, I really had no idea what the story was about, and I was surprised at how funny it was. Elphaba and Glinda played off of each other perfectly and I was laughing, smiling and/or crying all through the show!

256212666270439426_IdRN2HTy_b

anne-brummel-and-tiffany-haas-wicked

This scene (Popular) was fantastic, but nothing compares to Defying Gravity!!!! (Anne Brummel as Elphaba and Tiffany Haas as Glinda – Wicked, Detroit)

222435669065228652_y24hDghO_b

If you get a chance, listen to Anne Brummel on You Tube singing Defying Gravity…she will take your breath away, SO good!!!

774124905530877_D1Jr45gA_b

This was another favorite part of mine….when Elphaba and Glinda meet again at the end. Elphaba reminded me so much of myself, a genuine good person, just mis-understood at times and the most important lesson I learned that evening:

167618417350714865_CLHObJQ0_b

If you have seen Wicked, favorite part?

If not, I urge you to see this show at least once. You will love it!!!

21 thoughts on “Wicked

  1. I am dying to see this. We went to NYC last year and tried to get tickets but they were sold out! Rrrg. Now my hubby just told me it just came to PHX and I missed it. Rrrrg!! I’m so bummed…had no idea. Glad you loved it. 🙂 Yes, I’m a Mormon. Thanks for stopping by my blog, don’t be a stranger. Jessica

    runningtobeskinny.com

  2. I am green with envy! I am totally obsessed with Wicked but have never seen it. I read the book last year and still listen to the soundtrack quite often. I even named my car (it’s green) Elphaba! (Why yes, I am a little crazy.) I really hope to see the show someday…I’m glad to hear it is as wonderful as I had hoped.

    • I think it’s safe to say that after seeing this musical, I’m obsessed!! Apparently, the book version is much different than the musical version. If I can find the site I read the differences on I will send it to you, I’m very interested in reading the book now!!

  3. And now I see why you’ve been pinning all these wicked things! I love that show, so I didn’t mind. The music is phenomenal and the plot is just so inspiring. My parents surprised me with tickets to see it in Philly for my 14th birthday!

    • I want to read the book too, but I have heard that it’s totally different than the musical. The book is much darker and Elphaba really IS wicked because she is driven to insanity. It’s on my list of books to read for next year.

  4. I LOVE WICKED!!
    I saw it over the summer with a friend who had an “extra” ticket FOR FREE (what a great friend, huh?). I’m dying for it to come back to DC so my husband can see it- I know he’d love it, too.
    I thought it was so creative- I knew nothing about the storyline before i saw it and it was such a nice surprise!

Leave a Reply

