Once upon a time

I was a new blogger, I used a free blogging platform. I had no idea you could have your own .com, and I had never even heard the term “self-hosted.” I wrote about what I wanted, when I felt like it. Posts didn’t go up at “prime” times during the day, sometimes I would do a couple per day, other weeks it would only be once or twice a week. I started taking pictures of my meals because it kept me accountable. I used my blackberry camera and didn’t think twice about the lighting. Some posts barely had any comments, some had none, but those who did comment, I felt a connection with.

I didn’t break the bank every time I went to the grocery store because I had to buy something I saw on someone else’s blog, I didn’t try and break the bank by only shopping at Whole Foods and Trader Joe’s. I didn’t pretend to be someone I wasn’t.

At some point over the past year, that girl has disappeared, but I’m bringing her back one post at a time. Not sure if you have noticed, but I’ve started blogging for the fun of it again…and it is fun again! I’m trying to connect more with my readers and connecting with other bloggers I actually have something in common with! A few weeks ago I gave up eating meat because of a few reasons, but it’s just not me. I don’t know if I can ever be a full-fledged 100% vegetarian. For one thing, I hate labels, and for another thing as soon as I tell myself I’m not going to eat something, you can bet that’s all I want! So, while I don’t eat an insane amount of meat anyway, I can’t pretend to be someone I’m not.

My pictures aren’t glamorous, my meals aren’t either, but the important thing is that I’m learning to eat healthy again and I’m happier than I have been in years. I miss the girl who used to blog because it was fun, but she’s coming out again slowly, but surely!!

28 thoughts on “Once upon a time

  1. This is a great post! I think it’s so easy to get caught up in the worries of trying to make your blog like someone else’s or thinking that yours is not good enough. I often fall victim to that! I just try and remind myself that it’s my blog and I do it for fun and the whole point of having a blog is to show who you are naturally! 🙂

  2. Girl, I have BEEN THERE. I’m telling you– people really do underestimate how overwhelming blogging can be and how easy it is to get sucked into the trends of it all. All I can say is GREAT job taking a step for yourself. It’s the most honest of blogs that I find myself coming back to 🙂

  3. I think the best bloggers are those who let their true personality shine through. I know I can’t compete with the pictures and recipes and posting frequency and such of most of the food bloggers and I often have to remind myself that ‘this is a hobby – it is supposed to be fun.’

    Thanks for an honest post.

  4. I am so glad you are finding blogging fun! The second I read someone say “I don’t know what to say, etc.” I know that they feel they are blogging because everyone else is.

    I love blogging because it is my 100% me time – I do it in the morning, before work and anyone else is up so I am not interfering with family time.

    So happy for you!

  5. I think it’s so easy to get wrapped up with numbers, how many people are viewing, etc. Then you start to play the comparison game with your blog and other blogs and that never turns out well. But then its like an epiphany where you realize what you want your blog to be, somewhere where you can be genuine and yourself and your voice naturally carries through that. I blog whenever I feel like, I dont believe in a schedule and the minute it starts to feel like a task, I stop.

  6. Good for you! Your honesty will attract the type of readers you have the most in commmon with, and who are honest as well. I too sometimes need to take a step back and remind myself why I do it–for fun. Not to impress others or attract a certain number of readers. It is mine and I do it for me. When I am in that place is when I do my best writing, cooking, photography and have the most fun. Thanks for the reminder.

  7. Awesome post lady! I got to start reading more often. I have been slacking in the blogging and reading blog department! Keep up the good work on being YOU 🙂

Leave a Reply

