Crispy Tofu

You’ll have to forgive my craziness over the past 24 hours. I tried to self-host, but let me just tell you I was nuts for even thinking it and I’m happy I have my money back. This may change in the future, but for now. I’m staying here…and I hope everyone can see this post.

Ok, now that I got that out of the way, I’ll be re-posting two posts from earlier that were supposed to go up, but the site kept crashing. Yay.

It wasn’t too long ago, where tofu was just a strange blob of goo and I was certain I would never eat it unless I didn’t know I was eating it. Once I learned the art of pressing tofu, my whole world changed and now I eat it all the time. The key to liking tofu:

  • Buy extra firm
  • PRESS the water out. I don’t have a fancy presser, so I cut it into slabs, cover with dish towels and use my heaviest cutting board (at least 2 hours, but the longer, the better.
  • Marinades! I love mixing different things to marinate the tofu in, it’s a blank slate.

I pressed my tofu, and then marinated it in bbq sauce, dijon mustard and a little apple cider vinegar to thin it out and let it marinade over night. Yesterday for lunch, I took out a slab and baked it in the toaster oven for about 5 minutes, then cranked it up to broil and let it go, I turned it every few minutes until it was nice and crispy on the outside.

It was still slightly tender on the inside, but for a texture freak like myself, it was perfect.

This was the perfect addition to my salad and I also had another slab with roasted potatoes last night.

I found a bag of panko crumbs in the pantry today, I am thinking of doing something with those to make these really crunchy on the outside..stay tuned!!

I had another post that I did a couple of hours ago, but I’ll post it tonight. Please tell me this is being posted…

2 thoughts on “Crispy Tofu

  1. Diggin the header! Self hosting can be a HUGE pain in the butt, trust me. I love my blog self hosted because I have more control of the format but at the same time I really really really miss my wordpress.

Leave a Reply

