Better Bean Burrito

Let’s be honest, I didn’t get to be over 200lbs by eating too many bananas. Nope, I got to this point by eating too much fast food, drinking my weight in Diet Crack Coke, stuffing too many slices of pizza in, eating too many chips and guac and anything else I could eat while at a Mexican restaurant.

DSC_0136

I have been doing pretty well since I joined Weight Watchers, but sometimes those old demons come rushing back in and all I want is a horrible for you, but awesome tasting burrito from Taco Bell.

DSC_0137

Yesterday was one of those days, I found myself with a big surplus of points around lunch time and technically had enough points to have indulged in Taco Bell, but I knew it wasn’t the healthiest choice so I improvised.

DSC_0138

And made an even better version of the bean burrito at home. Take that Taco Bell, mama has a new favorite!!!

DSC_0139

Better Bean Burrito

  • Whole Wheat Tortilla
  • Weight Watchers Swiss Cheese Wedge
  • 1 Cup Broccoli Slaw
  • 1/2 Cup Refried Beans (mine had jalepeno pieces mixed in)
  • Salsa

In a skillet I mixed together the slaw, beans and salsa. Then spread it all onto a tortilla, topped with guac and marveled at how delicious it really was!

DSC_0140

Some of the mixture didn’t fit into the tortilla, so I just ate it on the side. This burrito had everything in it that I was craving; creamy cheese, beans, crunch and spice.

And then just to finish off the meal, I had a banana.

DSC_0142

20 thoughts on “Better Bean Burrito

  1. Good girl. 🙂 And hooray for a variety of textures!
    Your version looks MUCH better than Taco Bell anyway. Don’t put that fast food crap into your body- even if you have the points!

  2. Did some catch up reading on your blog. Girl, you are simply amazing! You are strong and have overcome so much, keep on pushing through! And congrats on the hard work with weight watchers! My mother does it and loves it, she has lost over 25lbs! I’m sooo glad your blog isn’t like all the others, keep on writing what you want, and you know I will be reading! 🙂

  3. Good for you for making your own! You saved money and gas, too ;-). I have a can of refried beans and I NEVER think to make burritos (no idea why) but that definitely sounds like something for the weekend… I have a lot of cheese, too!

  4. I’m so proud of you for making a healthy choice!!! That’s so hard to do sometimes, especially when you know you could’ve gone to taco bell. Have you ever tried the laughing cow queso fresco chipotle flavor? I bet it would taste so good in this burrito. Keep up the good work!!

Leave a Reply

