Mamavation Monday

Last Week: 207.4

This Week: 207

Loss: -.4

Total Loss: -5.8

I wish I could be happy about this, but I’m not. I really don’t want to be spending as much money as it costs to be on WW to lose less than 1/2 a pound a week. I know the program works, it’s worked for me before. I lost 50lbs in about 6 months in 2007, and when I did it before I was losing 3-4lbs per week and was in the best shape that I had been in, for years. I loved everything about what I was doing. So what’s changed?

#1: I was working in an office full time back then and now I’m a full time stay at home mom. I used to pack my breakfast, lunch and two snacks and that was all there was to eat. Now, I’m home all day surrounded by food. It’s a LOT harder.

#2. I had a gym membership. I was at the gym monday-friday from 4:30am-6am. I ran 4 miles every morning and then would use the free weights for about 30 minutes. I don’t have that luxury this time. Instead, I have DVD’s to do at home, but let me tell you, it’s a lot easier to stay in bed some mornings and since I’m not driving to a gym, it’s easier to not do anything some days. I’m focusing on one workout at a time right now. I won’t be running anytime soon, but when I first started back then, it was all I could do to walk on the treadmill for 10 minutes.

So, I’m going back to basics. I am going back to eating how I was back then. At that time, they had a Flex plan and a Core plan. I counted points, but if the foods weren’t listed on the Core foods list, I didn’t eat it. This time with the Points Plus program, they have a Power Foods list. I’m armed with it to go to the grocery store, and if foods aren’t on that list, I’m not eating them.

I’m sick of drinking my weight in Diet coke. It’s time to break up with Diet Crack and concentrate on drinking my weight in water instead 😉

And now, for some Mamavation Monday!

How would you brand your health and wellness lifestyle?  How do you want others to know you in this area?

I want to show other people that losing weight CAN be done without breaking the bank. You don’t have to invest a ton of money to be successful. I want to show other moms that taking time for ourselves is important and our health is just as important as our family members.

This post is sponsored by New Balance and I’m writing this to be entered into a giveaway hosted by Mamavation – a community dedicated to obesity prevention & weight loss for women

I am feeling so inspired and committed this morning, it will be a great week!!! I love Mondays, a clean slate for something fabulous to happen!!

19 thoughts on “Mamavation Monday

  1. Congratulations on losing 0.4lb. I know it isn’t a lot, however, it is still a step in the right direction. Love how you are taking it one step at a time. Baby steps really are key to making the lifestyle change stick.

  2. That is so true you don’t have to break the bank to lose weight. It’s all about watching what you eat and moderation. Keep it up you can do it.
    Have a great week!

  3. Keep it up, this is when it gets hard but if you keep it up this is when you will over time see results!!
    I told myself I must walk everyday this week! My workouts are next to none and Im tired of it. I started bringing my 2 year old with me on the walks, otherwise I won’t do them.

    Keep it up, way to go on your positive motivation!! 🙂

  4. you can do it! I did WW to lose my college weight and worked for them for almost 5 years. It’s such a great program and all of those .4 losses add up to some amazing results. Just keep at it 🙂

  5. Well, you know the difference between last time and this time – maybe start with committing to run 1 mile a day and build up from there?

    I know that it sounds weird that you would think you would have more time now that you are not working – but working gives you a built in structure – being home with food makes it easier not to add up all the licks and tastes along the day.

    You can do it! 😀

  6. It is really hard but if you buy the groceries then only what you buy is in the house. Easier said then done right? I have a family of 5 and some times I wonder why the heck did I just buy that box of cookies? It’s a pain. At least you have done it before and you have a plan in place. You know what to do. You have already acknowledged all your weaknesses. Now just be like Nike and Just Do It….add the SWOOSH sign here. 😉

Leave a Reply

