Perfect Brown Rice

Normally, I’m not a fan of brown rice. But, that has all changed tonight! I know that it’s way better for you, but I could never get it to turn out right.

DSC_0759

It’s either too dry, too watery or too bland; never again.

Baked Brown Rice  (This served our family of 5, with lunch for the husband and a little left for me )

  • 1.5 cups brown rice
  • 2.5 cups chicken broth (or any other broth, or water)
  • 1 Tablespoon Earth Balance
  • Salt, Pepper, Garlic Salt (to taste)

Bring above to a boil while you’re waiting for the oven to pre-heat to 375. Once it reaches a boil, place into an oven safe dish, cover and bake at 375 for 60 minutes.

DSC_0760

Uncover and stir and then let sit for about 10 minutes, stir again and serve. I’m not kidding when I say this was perfect. It wasn’t watery or dry and had the perfect amount of seasoning. So, so, so good!!!! I saved just enough for a special breakfast tomorrow that will have me dreaming happy dreams tonight.

Along with the rice, I made baked BBQ pork chops (cooked the same time and heat as the rice) and green beans.

DSC_0761

I may or may not have licked the plate.

12 thoughts on “Perfect Brown Rice

  1. Pingback: Eggs and Rice « Food, Family, Fitness

  2. Pingback: Wrapping up for the day « Food, Family, Fitness

  3. Pingback: What I Ate Wednesday #7 « Food, Family, Fitness

Leave a Reply

