One of those days

It’s been nearly 18 months since the day my Dad died, and even though I miss him every day, I’ve been healing and able to move forward. Today, it seems as if everything is reminding me of him and I have been thinking of him and remembering him all day long.

6294_1217499443926_1422085095_2439943_6097043_n

I like to think this means he’s thinking of me too. It started this morning when Aiden and I arrived at the library, I saw a grandpa carrying a little baby boy and holding a little girl’s hand. The man was wearing a shirt and pants my Dad used to wear and from a distance the little boy and little girl were about the size of Karlie and Aiden the last time my Dad saw them. I felt like my Dad was right there, I swear I could smell the cologne he used to wear.

We stopped at the store on the way home and ran into someone he used to work with and she didn’t know he had passed away and started talking about what a good man he was.

On the way home I saw his car 3 times, and it wasn’t that far of a drive! Right after the accident, I would see his car everywhere, it’s not as often now, but when I see a shiny black Lincoln SUV coming at me, I get that pit in my stomach again and know it’s not him.

I think today is a good day to go to the cemetery and place fresh flowers for him.

Leave a Reply

