Birthdays and a Birth Story

337395_2531927183798_1422085095_4872968_11691349_o

Saturday afternoon we all met at my mom’s house with my Grandma, aunts, uncles and cousins for birthday party for everyone with a birthday in September (me, my mom, grandma, brother, and Tyler). After some snacks and family picture taking, we all headed off to a local restaurant for dinner.

326593_2532063547207_1422085095_4873103_122937626_o

Dinner at the Highland House is a rite of passage around here, homecoming, birthdays, sports banquets, it’s all done at the Highland House. The greek salads are amazing and the breadsticks are to die for!

DSC_0701

DSC_0704                          DSC_0706 

We started off with the breadsticks and garlic cream cheese dip.

DSC_0710

So good. I stopped myself, but I could have devoured this entire basket by myself and then licked the garlic cream cheese bowl clean. After the bread, we moved on to salads. I just had the tossed salad with ranch.

DSC_0711

“You’re taking pictures of your food?” Yes, yes, I am.

I decided on the Grilled Chicken Fettuccine with Bell Peppers and Mushrooms. It was good, but I barely ate a 1/4 of it!

DSC_0712

Because I knew the highlight of the meal was coming. Birthday cake!

DSC_0716

Costco cakes are my favorite. White, fluffy cake with cheesecake filling. It doesn’t get any better!!!

DSC_0720

Moving along, yesterday was my Tyler’s 9th birthday. I can’t believe it’s been 9 years since he was born. I’ve never done this before, so I thought I would share his birth story. His pregnancy was the hardest one out of the 3. I had morning sickness for months, gestational diabetes and around 32 weeks was put on blood pressure medication 3 times a day for high blood pressure. I was scheduled for an induction on September 26th because I would be 38 weeks on that day (it was a Thursday). The Saturday prior to that, I woke up that morning feeling “off”.” By the time I got to the hospital, my blood pressure was near stroke level, I was given a stronger blood pressure medication and admitted to the hospital. My OB approached me and said we could start the induction, but it could take days or we could do a c-section right then. I opted to start the induction. On Wednesday morning, I was sick of the hospital, sick of pitocin all day long and still no baby! Finally I was starting to make progress and my water broke around 9am on the 25th. At 1pm, I was fully dilated and started pushing. About 5pm, my body started giving up and I had nothing else to give.

The last thing I remember is sitting up to do one last push and I woke up in the operating room being prepped for an emergency c-section. Tyler Ethan was born at 5:37pm weighing in at 8lbs 12oz and 22”.

DSC_0722

I don’t remember much about the next day, I was in bad shape and was dangerously close to needing to be placed in the ICU and having a blood transfusion. I spent another 4 days in the hospital before being healthy enough to go home. Thankfully everything healed as it should, but I was on blood pressure medication for almost a year until it stabalized again.

DSC_0728

DSC_0729

DSC_0730

Happy 9th Birthday Tyler, I love you!!!

DSC_0738

One thought on “Birthdays and a Birth Story

  1. Pingback: Happy 7th Birthday Karlie | Food, Family, Fitness

Leave a Reply

