Amazing Grace

Today was the funeral for a dear woman in our Church. The song that was sung at the end was Amazing Grace and as the tears poured down my face, I realized how perfect this song was for this woman.

When my Dad passed away last year it was shortly after her cancer diagnosis and she sent a card with the most inspirational words and feelings. I saw her at church a few weeks later and she said I’m not supposed to be hugging anyone, but you need one. She told me that she was sure my Dad was so happy and that I needed to continue living my life and that would make him rejoice. At a time when I was in my darkest hour, she was the ray of sunshine and hope that I needed.

So many memories, feelings, emotions came bubbling over yesterday and today at the funeral home and again at the church this morning. Walking into the funeral home last night, it was the first time I have been there since my Dad’s viewing almost a year and a half ago. Walking into the church this morning had me flashing back to the day of my Dad’s funeral. To say it’s been an emotional day is an understatement. There was a poem printed on the program for the funeral today that has hit me hard. It is perfect for her, and it’s also perfect for my Dad.

 

To Those I Love And Those Who Love Me

When I am gone, release me, let me go.

You have so many things to see and do.

You musn’t tie yourself to me with tears.

Be happy that we had so many years.

I gave you my love. You can only guess

How much you gave to me in happiness.

I thank you for the love you each have shown,

But now it’s time I traveled on alone.

So grieve a while for me, grieve if you must,

Then let your grief be comforted by trust.

It’s only awhile that we must part,

So bless the memories within your heart.

I won’t be far away, for life goes on,

So if you need me, call and I will hear.

Though you can’t see or touch me, I’ll be near…

And if you listen with your heart you’ll hear,

All of my love around you, soft and clear.

And then, when you must come this way alone,

I’ll greet you with a smile and “Welcome Home.”

-author unknown

One thought on “Amazing Grace

  1. AWWW Jen! It was beautiful today! This poem she loved herself and had rearranged it to suit those she loved! She handed it out to a lot of people who had loved ones they lost and we thought it was appropriate for the program! We sure love you guys and Mom was right! Live your Life!! Enjoy it! Mom always bucked the system…did what her heart told her to do and it never led her wrong!! Love you and thanks for being there for My Mom’s funeral today…made more special because you were there! xoxo

Leave a Reply

