September Goals

Anyone else in disbelief that it’s September already?! I’m trying not to focus on the scale these days, but more about how I’m feeling, eating well, getting exercise, etc. That being said, I’m NOT at a healthy weight. At all. I’m seriously overweight and thanks to some bloodwork done recently, I’m headed down a dangerous path. One I don’t want to be on.

Looking back, I used to be so active. I danced, was a competitive cheerleader, was a runner after high school and then I got married, got pregnant shortly after that, and everything stopped. I stopped taking care of me. I stopped thinking my happiness mattered.

IT DOES MATTER.

My September goals:

1. Drink enough water to drown a fish. I haven’t been drinking enough water in a very long time, the last few days I have made a conscious effort to do so and it’s making everything feel a lot better.

2. Burn an obscene amount of calories. I am a visual person. I love tickers, calorie counters, etc. Buying a heart rate monitor that shows how many calories I have burned was the best gift I ever bought myself. I play a game to see if I can beat the previous day’s calorie burn and I am a total freak in that I can’t have the burn be an odd number, it has to be a nice, round number.

3. Up my vegetable and fruit intake.

I have a whole bunch more, but I don’t want to overwhelm myself. Like I’ve said before, I don’t want this to be just a weight loss blog, but the reality of my life is that I need to lose a significant amount of weight to be healthy again.

I’m not sure what my ultimate goal weight is, but I’ll know it when I get there. It’s not just a  number on the scale that I’m concerned about, it’s how I feel inside and out and I’ll know it when the time comes.

I want to smile again and mean it.

This is turning out to be way longer than I planned!! Hope you all have a great weekend!!!

5 thoughts on “September Goals

  1. have you thought of setting a mini-goal then? One you want to at least achieve? Especially based on your 2nd comment re competing with yourself and liking tickers and visual indicators? For example, I’m going for 52 pounds right now, but that is not my final goal. I’m not sure what the final goal is, but having a target helps me. God luck regardless.

    • I have a goal of sorts right now, which is my pre-children weight, but i’m not sure if it’s feasible. I don’t know if I can make it to that weight again, or if I want to! I would like to get down to a certain size, and we’ll see what the weight is when I get there.

  2. Pingback: I Think I Can « Food, Family, Fitness

Leave a Reply

