I’m Doing This

I have been taking my long runs on Tuesdays for the past few weeks.  It really works out well because my office is in Newport Beach, and so I can run where it is relatively flat and have lots of beautiful scenery to look at so I don’t get bored.

If you have been reading my blog for awhile, you will notice that my Tuesday long runs have been getting longer and longer.  Last Tuesday, I ran 10 miles.  Yesterday, I mapped out a course that I thought would be about 12 miles.  It looked good, so I set out.  When I was done, my Nike+ transmitter said 14 miles.  I had to stop it before I completely finished, so I guess it was even a little bit longer.  But 14 miles?  Are you effing kidding me?  I still can’t believe it myself.  It took me 3 hours to finish this course.  I am sunburned and sore today.  It was cloudy and cold so I didn’t even think to put on any sunblock (shame on me).  The route I took was mostly along Newport Harbor, around Balboa Island (little and big island), up Bayside drive to Fernleaf (in CDM), along Ocean Blvd, then back to my office.  I don’t know what it is about Balboa Island and CDM but the residents there have such amazing gardens.  Seriously, one after the next.  I wish I would have taken pictures but it was all I could do to keep running.

Running that far is HARD.  It is kind of depressing when you get to the 1 mile point and think, well, only 12 more to go.  Even hitting 8 miles, being tired, and thinking holy crap I have 5 more miles to go is totally a downer.  After 11 miles, I hit a wall.  I could barely move, let alone run anymore.  I think it was because I didn’t take any water with me, and there were no drinking fountains along the way.  Bad, bad planning.  I’m going to have to figure something out.  Bryan has a camelbak and I think I’m going to have to use it when I do the long runs like that because I’m sure I was dehydrated and that is why I was struggling.  I walked the last 2 miles mostly, with a few stretches of jogging mixed in.  But I made it!!!

I have signed up for a 1/2 marathon in October.  But there was one coming up on May 1 like 5 minutes from my house, a few people I know are doing the 10k and 5k, and so I am biting the bullet and running an official half marathon on 5/1!!! I know I can do it, I just am hoping to get faster before then.  I need to start pushing myself harder on my short runs so I can used to running faster.  So if you have any ideas, throw them at me!! And I hope to see you at the finish line!

Leave a Reply

