Thoughts

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about why the scale is not cooperating with me, and what steps I need to take in order to change this.  It always, always, always comes back to food for me. I do great on exercise, I like exercise and the way it makes me feel, but I feel like I am wasting my time exercising if I’m not going to eat well.

Don’t get me wrong, I am definitely happy with the progress I’ve made so far.  I am smaller now than I was 5 years ago when I got pregnant with Savannah.  Last Sunday I wore a skirt to church that the last time I wore it, was Easter Sunday and I remember this because I called my dad that morning to tell him that I was pregnant with Savannah.  I had just walked  in and my phone rang, so I went back outside to talk to him.  Ok, random aside.  I just wish that I could just exercise, and the weight would fall off no matter what I ate, just like it did 10 years ago when I lost 75 pounds.  I exercise way more, and way harder, and the scale just does not budge for me anymore unless I eat well, too.

So what am I doing about it?  Last Christmas I got a bodybugg.  I’m really good about wearing it, but not so hot about logging my food or uploading the bugg every day.  Chalk it up to laziness.  I know I need to track my food.  I just have a mental block about it.  But when I track I do well. Maybe I just really, deep down, want to be fat, lazy, and unhealthy for the rest of my life?  No, I don’t think so.  I have a brand new pair of True Religion jeans hanging in my closet.  I can get them on but I have a huge muffin top.  I have wanted these jeans for years and I am so close to looking good in them, I want to look good and feel confident, but I just keep letting myself down.  I don’t know why I do that, I just do.  I tracked 2 days of my food last week and then it was an all-you-can-eat frenzy.  My husband was out of town and I just ate bad, and way too much, the whole time he was gone.  So today, I am starting over with tracking, and so far, so good.  I planned out my meals for the whole week (well, dinners anyways, with plenty of leftovers for lunches) and I only eat egg whites or oatmeal for breakfast so I don’t need to plan that.  I set new goals for myself today on the bodybugg website, and I need to lose 1.3 pounds a week to make it to 205 pounds by the time I go to Michigan on May ___ (it’s a secret). 
Running is making it harder to eat healthy, because after I run 10 miles, believe me, the last thing I feel like doing is eating a SALAD.  I want about 4 double cheeseburgers and an extra large diet coke!!!

So, share with me.  What are the things that you do to get the scale moving in the right direction?

Leave a Reply

