Trying to Get My Groove Again

I have been in a funk the past few weeks.  I think it’s kind of like a “holiday hangover”, I suppose.  I don’t know why but I have been finding every excuse possible to skip my exercise.  Last week I only went to the gym once and ran a pathetic one time too–although that was almost 5 miles.  I have been busy with crocheting hats for my etsy shop (etsy.com/shop/Teepers1) but still!  I need to get back to the gym.
I don’t know why I have been making excuses.  I gained 3 pounds over the holidays.  Those pounds are not coming off right away like I thought they would.  They are stubborn.  The older I get, the harder it is to loose weight and that is total crap.  I know 3 pounds isn’t awful but Christmas was almost a month ago and they are still here.  I want to get to 200 and so I know I just need to refocus my efforts and keep my goal in sight.  I am going to Palm Desert in April and would like to be at 200 by then so I am not so embarassed to wear a bathing suit.  We also may be going to Hawaii in August and I definitely want to be close to my goal weight by then, and losing 2 pounds a month is not going to get me there.
I went today and did 35 minutes on the elliptical.  It was short, I usually do an hour, but I had an errand to run and also got to the gym late because our last patient in the morning was 20 minutes late.  Tomorrow I will run 5 miles.  I’m hoping it is not too hot, I want to try out a new route by my house.

Leave a Reply

