Two Special Gifts

Well, I made it through the first Christmas without my Dad here. So hard to believe it’s been 8 months since he died. Christmas was always his favorite holiday, he loved everything about it: the lights, decorations, music, shopping, and his favorite was having everyone over on Christmas Day together to open gifts and spend the day together. We decided that since this was our first Christmas without him with us, we were all going to stay the night at my mom’s house. It was so much fun! My brothers, husband and myself stayed up late setting up Santa gifts, watching Christmas movies and just having fun together.

I was given two gifts that are very special and I will treasure forever.

This one is from my brother’s wife Sarah. I cried when I opened this.

 And this is a gift from my Mom. It’s one of my Dad’s favorite shirts made into a pillow (she had one made for all of the kids and grandkids.) I can still smell him a little bit.

16 thoughts on “Two Special Gifts

  1. I LOVE that picture from your sister. It choked me up a little thinking about my loved ones who have passed. Glad you were all able to spend the night at your mom's house as a family. Happy New Year!

  2. This was our 13th year without my Dad – I am so glad I have old videos to watch though and hear his voice!Love your gifts you got – so thoughtful! 😀

Leave a Reply

