My Apple Dilemma

We have a Fuji apple tree.  I don’t really care for apples all that much.  I’m more of a summer fruit type of gal.  For the last two years, we have hardly gotten any apples on our tree, due, I am sure, to a number of factors.  We used to have a HUGE raccoon that would begin coming into our yard in early October that would eat a lot of the apples.  We also had some huge trees in the wash behind our back fence that were literally overgrowing the apple tree and hanging over our fence.  I haven’t seen the raccoon yet this year, the city came and cut back all of the trees, and we had a huge amount of rain this year.  So I ended up with this:

I have apples coming out my ears!  More than I could ever eat.  I gave some away but we still had tons.  Last week I was looking at a random blog and saw a recipe for apple butter.  In the crock pot.  How could it get much better? I decided to give it a try on Tuesday.

I picked all the apples, washed them, and peeled, cored, and sliced them.

I got hungry for a snack while doing all that work.

Put all the sliced apples in the crock pot–use enough to fill the crock pot all the way to the top.  I didn’t use all the apples I picked.  I probably used about 15 of them.  Oh and it’s ok if the apples aren’t perfect.  We don’t spray our tree so our apples are 100% organic and delicious.  I just cut out the yucky parts from the apples.

Then I added 2.5 cups of splenda, probably 2 tablespoons of cinammon, 2 teaspoons nutmeg, 2 teaspoons ginger, and about 2 tablespoons of vanilla.  I mixed it all up and let it cook on low for about 6 hours.  I gave it a stir once in awhile.  By the time I went to bed, the apples still weren’t soft enough so I kept cooking them overnight.  I got up at 530am to check them and they were perfection and my kitchen smelled like I cooked about 20 apple pies!

Then I took the lid off and cooked the apples on high for about an hour. 

I used an immersion blender to smooth everything out right in the crock pot.  I tasted it, and wow!  Pleasing!  Then I put everything in Mason jars.  I thought I would have tons of apple butter but my batch only made 3 jars.  I am going to make some more this weekend for holiday gifts.

I bribed Savannah to try some on her toast.  She loved it and has asked for it every day since then.  I tried it on my oatmeal and OMG!! Yummo!!!!

2 thoughts on “My Apple Dilemma

Leave a Reply

