Easy Chicken Enchiladas

I found this recipe a few years ago in Sunset magazine.  My family all loves Mexican food so I thought I would give it a try and it was a hit.  Over the years I have adapted it to how I like it.  It still isn’t the most healthy food but a once in a while splurge is certainly acceptable.

The ingredients:

I used a rotisserie chicken from Costco.  I bought it over the weekend, took all the meat off, and froze it until I was ready to use it.  You also need a 16oz container of nonfat sour cream, corn tortillas (DO NOT USE FLOUR–eeeeewwww), vegetable oil for frying the tortillas, however much grated cheese you want on top of the enchiladas, salt, and a can of enchilada sauce or salsa.  I like the medium green chile enchilada sauce.

First, mix the chicken, sour cream, and about 2 teaspoons of salt together.  You can also add cheese into this mixture but I don’t like it.

I use a 9×13 glass pan to bake this dish in.  Heat the oven to 350 degrees (F).  Then I put some enchilada sauce in the bottom of the pan and start heating up the oil.  I put enough oil in the pan to last for the whole batch of tortillas, which is probably a half inch.  Then I fry each tortilla one at a time for about 30 seconds per side, just to get it limp, then spoon in the filling.

Frying the tortilla.

Filling the tortillas.  I fry each one individually, fill it, and then roll it right in the pan.  Then just fill up the pan. 

Once you have used up all the filling and the pan is full, pour the rest of your can of enchilada sauce over the top of all the enchiladas and top with the grated cheese.  If you are like me, the more the merrier… but this time I didn’t use that much because I was trying to make it healthier.

All ready to bake!  Sorry about the weird position. I couldn’t get it to rotate for some reason.  Bake it at 350, covered with foil, for about 35 minutes.  Take the foil off and bake for another 20 minutes to get the cheese all delicious.  I couldn’t get a picture of the finished product.  Life happened and my husband tore into it before I got a chance (this is his favorite dinner!).

2 thoughts on “Easy Chicken Enchiladas

Leave a Reply

