Eating Out

Eating out has always been a problem for me that starts a horrible eating cycle for days on end after. For normal people, they can go to a restaurant eat something that they want, whether they choose to indulge or not, and then the next meal get right back to eating normally. For me, I go to a restaurant over indulge and continue the binge for day after day after that. It’s a cycle I’m trying to break. My oldest’s birthday is Saturday and my little brother’s birthday was yesterday so that fam went out to dinner to celebrate. I knew we were going to Applebee’s so I decided to check out the nutritionals online before leaving. I was really appalled at the nutrional values of some of my favorite dishes. Like jaw dropping. I decided in advance to order from the under 550 calorie count section and I was pleasantly surprised!!! 
Ok, so let’s back up to the start of the day. For breakfast  I had an egg and cheese sandwich. Simple. Delicious.
We had some errands to run in the morning and by the time I got home, I was ready to rip my arm off and eat it!!! I went with a veggie filled salad
Topped with a Boca Chik’n Patty
Before heading off the Applebee’s, I had a little snack to keep me from wanting to over indulge once we arrived to dinner. I had a pink lady apple and more creamy, delicious, Crazy Richard’s Creamy Peanut Butter.
As I mentioned earlier, I ordered the Asiago Peppercorn Steak and it came with herbed potatoes and steamed broccoli.
This was REALLY good!!! The steak was cooked perfectly, the potatoes had just the right amount of seasoning on them and the broccoli was cooked, but still slightly crisp. I highly recommend it!!!

Once  we got home I had to get started on the dozens upon dozens of cookies for Tyler to take to school for his birthday treat. I am not a baker. I can cook pretty well, but when it comes to baking, it’s hit and miss!! I went for it though, and they actually turned out pretty well.

And I didn’t have any! Normally, I would gorge myself on the dough and some “samples”, but I was still full from dinner and the cookies weren’t even tempting. Score!!

5 thoughts on “Eating Out

  1. I can totally relate to this post Jen. I too struggle when I am away from home. Its harder to keep track since you are not preparing it yourself and then it turns into an excuse to throw in the towel for a day, or 6 😦 Good job planning ahaead! I find this helps dramatically! I used to go to Applebees a lot and they never offered a nutritional value online. I think maybe it is law now(?) so I am going to have to check it out and see what my favorite dishes are!Jennifer

  2. I have wanted to try Crazy Richards' PB…glad to see it is yummy :)Eating out can be tricky…I posted my "tricks" a few weeks ago, but basically remember that it is one meal. You should enjoy it, since that is what going out to eat is all about. Just stay away from things that are "crispy" or "battered," don't take in unnecessary drink calories, and share your dessert :)Also, never order something you could easily make at home.

  3. Eating out is difficult for me as well.. simply because I am a vegetarian who doesn't eat eggs and or tofu… The last time we were in Applebeas I ordered a salad that was lettuce and tomato.. very disapointing 😦

Leave a Reply

