Getting Ready!

I’m trying to get excited for this upcoming camping trip, I really am, but there is a major person missing and it’s really hard to get excited to go. My Dad was the one who would be packed for DAYS before leaving, had lists ready weeks in advance and by this point would already have the garage lined up with bins, bags, tools we would never, ever use and the food…oh gosh, the food. We’re talking laundry baskets full of every sugar, fatty things you can imagine! He always wanted to leave as close to sunrise as possible, and would get so heated if we weren’t on the road by 6am to “maximize vacation time.” LOL! This year will NOT be the same without him (I’m tearing up right now thinking about everything), but we will be there as an almost complete family and we will do our best to have some good time family fun!

That being said, I spent most of the day yesterday making lists, doing laundry and wishing for more hours in the day! I’m down to one load in the dryer, one in the washer and one more needing to be washed and then I can start packing. Today will be really busy, trying to pack 3 kids and myself; the husband is on his own πŸ˜‰ And I need to get some food packed. This is the first year I’m actually excited and planning my own food for the trip. Bringing lots of healthy, yummy goodies and hitting up the produce market this morning to get loads of fresh veggies and fruits. Ack! So many things to do today!!!!

For breakfast yesterday I had two slices of toast topped with I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter

And a green monster that the toddler drank his fair share of as well

While out running some errands, I stopped at Subway and had a 6″ Turkey breast on wheat with tomatoes, pickles, olives, bell peppers, banana peppers, onions, mustard and salt and pepper…sorry un-pictured. The afternoon was spent trying to make goodies to take with us and cooking dinner. My first attempt at making Kale chips was a total epic failure. I cooked them too long and it ended up being a burnt, crispy kale disaster :(.
In between all the cooking I had a Slim-Fast snack bar, I nibbled on this and it actually held me over for longer than 5 minutes.

For dinner, we had the husband’s favorite: Kielbasa and red beans and rice, chopped vegetables and dinner rolls. I am so proud of myself, this roll on my plate was the only one consumed by me last night! Success!

After dinner I got started on a different cooking project: homemade lentil/black bean burgers

* Lentils
*Brown Rice
*Olive Oil
*Chopped Onion
* Garlic Powder
*Black Beans (drained and rinsed in a colander)
*Cholula
*Tomato paste (didn’t end up using)
Step 1: Boil 4 cups of water and add lentils and brown rice. Heat to a boil and then simmer until the lentils and rice have absorbed all of the water (I also added olive oil, garlic powder and onion)

Then add beans, oat flour (1 cup of oats spun in the food processor for about a minute)
Add Cholula and mix and mash it all together
Form into patties
And then I baked them in the oven at 350 for about 10 minutes
After the first batch, I realized how sticky and mushy the mixture was, so I put it in a tupperware container and placed overnight in the fridge. I’ll make the rest of them this morning and then they are all going with me camping!
Anyone have any suggestions for me to stay on plan and not have an all out binge eating fest while I’m gone next week?
6 thoughts on “Getting Ready!

  1. Have a fun trip, drink your fluids, have portioned controlled snacks at the ready (you are less likely to get into trouble that way) and before a meal, drink 8oz of water and/or have an apple or a veggie snack. Those are my tips.I'd like the kielbasa & red beans and rice recipe!

  2. How did the burgers taste? Can you email me your recipe for the kielbasa dish? That's MY favorite- actually used to be fried potatoes & kielbasa, the rice dish looks much healthier!

  3. Those burgers sound good. For camping, bring lots of snackable food for yourself like berries so you can munch without going overboard. Also, might not be a bad idea to have some gum and minds on hand to pop when you want to snack.

  4. burgers look great and thank you so much for the supportive comment you left me…2 weeks ago! it was stuck in a spam folder but wanted to thank you for taking the time to smack down others who wanna smack down any blogger who is just sharing about his/her life…no one deserves that and thank you for coming to my support :)xo

  5. Have fun on your trip!!! I am pretty sure that even though I never met you or your dad that he would want you to go and have a great time. JEnniferhttp://wecanlosethepounds.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

