3 Months

On Tuesday, April 13th, my life stopped. My life changed forever as two detectives sat and told us that our Dad had been killed in a car accident earlier that morning. It’s now Tuesday, July 13th, and I’m starting to heal. I can’t believe it’s been 3 months already. I miss him every minute of every day. How do you say good bye to someone who was such a huge part of your every day life?

Ok, on to yesterday, weigh in day. Blah. I have really let myself get out of control. I know I have gone through a lot lately, but it’s time to get my life on track. I don’t want my family to have to bury me because I had a heart attack or stroke from being so heavy. My Dad was always so proud of me for wanting to take control of my weight and when I was on the losing streak he was one of my biggest cheerleaders. I’m determined to continue to make him proud and though I have started so many times, this is the last time I start…and I will be finishing! My weight yesterday morning was 200.6. A year ago I was 181. For breakfast I had a grapefruit and two slices of whole wheat toast with I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter.

Lunch was a Morningstar Farms Spicy Black Bean veggie burger topped with mustard, sharp cheddar cheese and a thick tomato slice.

Get a cool beverage ready. With black beans, roasted corn, brown rice, and chili peppers, these burgers definitely have a whoa-that-was-good-now-give-me-some-more kick to them.
•120 calories
• 4g fiber
• 11g protein
• 73% less fat*

And then a cool, yummy new yogurt on the side





















After I put the toddler down for a nap, I decided to get a work out in, and did Turbo Jam: 20 Minute Jam. This was the first workout I have done since the morning of my dad’s death. It felt great to workout again, but I am WHOA out of shape. Scary!! I have tried early morning workouts, late night workouts, but the mid-afternoon was AWESOME! I think I have found *my* time yay 🙂  For  a snack, I found this box of Slim-Fast snacks I bought awhile ago on clearance, and it sounded good, so I thought I would try one.

The packaging was a *big* misleading…

The two bites weren’t bad, but I was really ready for dinner after that!! We had one of my kid’s favorite meals for dinner; baked spaghetti and a big salad. After dinner, I was ready for another workout and did level 1 of Biggest Loser Yoga.

My mom, brothers and I are getting together tonight for dinner; we always have dinner on the 13th of every month. Tonight we are having one of my Dad’s favorite meals; chili dogs.

4 thoughts on “3 Months

  1. I am so glad to hear that you are healing. They say time heals all wounds. I think that taking on diet and exercise as such an important focus will help you along the way too. You have been through a lot and I admire you for wanting to make the best of yourself not just for you but for your dad. I was around your weight when I started my weight loss. The beginning can be tough but once the weight starts coming off and you (and other people) start noticing difference it seems to get easier. It seems like the stuff you are eating is so healthy! Yaay! Just be sure that you are doing exercise that you love so you dont dread it. Thats a new concept for me. :)Jenniferhttp://wecanlosethepounds.blogspot.com/

  2. Jen- I read three months and knew. My two month mark came up on July 8th. I actually woke up early that day and actually made it to the gym (I always say I want to do that and haven't been able to up til then). I ran a mile without any music, just praying and also kind of talking to my dad. I haven't run that much in years. On the bad days, I swim. It's the one thing I can do to feel a little better. That and pray. I send a hug of solidarity to you as the time marches on, even when sometimes you want it to stop. Hang in there.

Leave a Reply

