Need Some Help and Advice

I don’t know what to do. I hate dieting. I don’t want to limit myself to a few foods, I don’t want to starve all day, I don’t want to eat chemically filled sugar free, fat free foods, I want to eat REAL food. Whole un-processed food. This can’t be that hard. Right? Do I need to count calories? Hard workouts? That I can handle. I just don’t know how many calories to eat. I don’t want to feel hungry all day long. I don’t want to cut out entire food groups. I’m so stressed about this and I know I shouldn’t be, but I HATE the weight I’m at right now. I hate walking by clothes in the store that look really cute, but when I find something in my size, it looks like a tent. I hate having people ask me when the baby is due since I’m not even pregnant. I hate LOOKING like I’m pregnant. Please help me 😦

Let’s get on to the eats from yesterday 🙂 As soon as I woke up I had a delightful green monster. I’m pretty sure I’m starting to get addicted to these little goodies, but that’s ok!

A few hours later I had grapefruit and a piece of toast (toast is un-pictured)

It’s hotter than you know what and the air is so thick you can wear it, but I had a craving for some soup and crackers yesterday, so that’s what I had 🙂 A cup of Progresso Lentil soup

Along with Special K Italian Tomato and Herb crackers. I love that 1 serving is 17 crackers and only 90 calories.

And a peach for lunch dessert 🙂

Later in the afternoon I was ready for something else so I had a Peanut Butter Gnu Bar. Every bar I have tried I have said this is so good, it’s my favorite…same with this one!!! Love it!

Baked-in peanut chunks with a yummy, nutty taste. It’s a delicious and healthy way to get the peanut-y taste you love and the fiber you need.

Dinner is un-pictured, but we had bean and cheese enchiladas and a salad (Romaine, bell peppers, cucumbers, tomatoes and carrots)

11 thoughts on “Need Some Help and Advice

  1. Finding what is sustainable for you over the long haul is the goal. I mean if you could see into the future and know at the end of say two years, you could be at your goal weight, you'd do it, right? As long as you KNEW there would be some results. On this journey, one size does not fit all, so each of us has to find what works and is workable for us. I would suggest something like the financial gurus advise = start by tracking the calories you are eating, just to get an idea of what you are consuming. From there, you can make adjustments as to "bang for the buck". I'm a volume eater, so I function better when I feel full. So that means more cut up veggies in my salads and less cheese, for example. I cut back on the calorically dense foods. But if you start by tracking, say on fitday or somesuch, then you get an idea of where to go from there.Oh, and I am a HUGE proponent of eating real, whole, non-processed foods. I call the chemically altered stuff "frankenfood".Goodness, I didn't mean to write a treatise here. Have a wonderful weekend. And good luck!

  2. Sorry to hear things are so tough for you right now but I hope that eating a diet of REAL, healthy foods will keep you full and content while still working towards your goal!

  3. Hey Jen! What do you put in your green monsters? I used to drink them all the time, but I've gotten away from them. I need to start them again!As far as advice, I second Roxie. Just start tracking, and don't tell yourself that you can't have anything. If you want a cookie, fit one in your calorie budget. When I figured out how many calories to eat, I just calculated the calorie needs through about 10 different online calculators, and picked a value near the middle. Then you can adjust from there when you see how your body reacts. Here's the post where I went through my results:http://patienceprogressperseverance.blogspot.com/2010/05/well-no-wonder-im-confused.htmlIt has links to some of the online calculators. Good luck!

  4. Hey! So I just started reading your blog yesterday but I know how you feel. It took me a long time to find my balance, but I find that I need to eat bigger breakfast and lunch and smaller dinners. It sounds like you get hungry because you save all of your calories for dinner. I don't have a morning snack either, I wait until the afternoon. I found that as soon as I cut out my morning snack and just had a little bit bigger breakfast I didn't feel as hungry/snackie the rest of the day. Hope this helps!

  5. Hey, Jen! Can you share your recipe for the green monster shake? Looks delish!As far as eating goes, the bottom line is calorie intake has to be less than calories burned if you want to lose weight. Your food choices are awesome! Keep up the good work and allow yourself some pasta or a dessert once in a while, just count those calories!Love you, girl!

  6. Hi Jen!Well, I've struggled with weight my whole life. And when I've been at my healthiest, I try not to focus on food. If that makes sense. Yes, counting calories is good, but when I obsess, it makes me want it more. So, I started keeping myself busier. Also, I learned that just because a serving size is x amount of whatever, doesn't mean I have to eat a whole serving size. So now, when I'm craving something, I'll eat some, but not a whole serving. Just enough to taste. And weight training helped a ton. Muscle burns fat. I have no idea if any of this made sense to you. But I want you to know I'm so proud of you and how open you are with sharing this. Keep up the good work!! And stay positive! 🙂 Love you!

  7. HI! I am a Nutrition and Supplement consultant and I STRONGLY believe in Volumetrics! If I am NOT full then I am not a happy camper! I eat a lot of veggies dipped in my homemade honey mustard and salsa. I mean a lot! Mushrooms dipped into honey mustard, and salsa are so good! Same with celery! It doesn't taste like celery with the dips. If I want something sweet I add sugar free syrups, cinnamon and stevia to my cauliflower etc. Protein powder can be added to anything! Broccoli/Rainbow salad slaw is so filling and great with low sodium soy and a bit of sweetener!It's not easy!XOBarbara

  8. Okay….where to start????? I know just how you feel. I was there for a long time. Like 12 years actually. I was totally frustrated and just about gave up. I did Medifast for 4 months. It is expensive and restrictive, but I did it. I have to say it isnt a plan for most. But I did LEARN some things on the plan that I find to be extremely helpful as I am now off the plan and continue to lose weight. I eat 5-6 meals a day and this really keeps me from getting that starving feeling where I eat whatever is in sight. There is a website that can tell you how many calories you should be eating a day. If you type into google "how many calories should I eat to lose weight" it will automatically pop up and there is an actual equation that it will do for you when you put your into in (height, weight, age, activity level". Anyway…once you figure out how many calories to eat spread it out throughout the day. For me, I count calories for now until I get a better handle on it. I eat around 200-300 calories for breakfast(I love cereal and the milk is great protein) then have a yogurt or nuts or a fiber bar for a snack (usually around 100 calories. Then I have a lunch of around 400 calories(maybe a sandwich with whole grain bread or something) and another snack in the afternoon. then my leftover points for dinner and maybe an evening snack. BUT…I learned that eating more of the right things like protein and fiber, fruits/veggies and whole grains make a huge difference in that hunger feeling. Not getting that starving feeling because I am getting filled from a little yogurt is exciting! I still eat pizza and ice cream and I dont feel deprived. Everyone is different and I am sure you will find what works for you. And most importantly…as far as exercise goes…find soemthing you absoultely LOVE so exercise doesnt have to be something you dread. For me this is a new concept. If you cant find that site with the calorie info on it let me know and I will email it to you!! Hang in there. You will figure this out.Jenniferhttp://wecanlosethepounds.blogspot.com/

  9. Sorry to hear that you are going through a tough time, but you'll figure out what works for you. I lost quite a bit of weight last year and did it without counting calories or cutting out entire food groups. In fact, I focused on eating mostly real foods. I gave up Diet Coke (which I was consuming in ridiculous amounts) and starting cutting back on artificial ingredients as much as possible. At the same time, I worked really hard at letting go of my "all or nothing" mentality. It was really hard to not beat myself up when I was "bad" (and then eat more). What really helped was figuring out what my "triggers" were. I realized that I truly needed some form of exercise every day to feel well, have energy, and "be happy." So I made it my goal to do "something" every day. I also paid special attention to evenings as eating too much at night had caused most of my weight gain in the first place. I know you'll find a "plan" that'll work for you. And yes, you can lose weight without counting calories, while eating real food, and without working out ridiculous amounts.

  10. I have always found calorie counting the best method for me – and it reminds me which foods are the most calorie dense so to pretty much stay away from if I want to feel full. Sadly for me, this has meant mostly giving up cheese and mayonnaise which were 2 of my favourite foods. Moderation with those 2 is next to impossible! You do adjust though.You could try something like sparkpeople.com,which is free and can help you track carbs, protein and fat as well as overall calories. They also set you a range of calories which seems realistic and have all sorts of useful articles to help you get and stay on track.Something else that struck me when I looked at your site was your target weight. I wonder if shorter term goals would help you feel like you're getting somewhere. Set yourself a series of 7-10lb targets rather than an 80lb target. Obviously I don't know you or any of your history so feel free to ignore all of this! It is a case of finding something that works for you long term, not just short term. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

