Mother’s Market Visit

There is a specialty food store by my office that just opened a new, huge store.  It is called Mother’s Market.  The other day at lunch, I didn’t really have anything to do and I needed something for dinner so I went to check it out.
Okay, please do not hate me if you like Mother’s but I am not really a fan.  I found the food to be overpriced and some of the stuff that they had was just plain WEIRD.  Like Japanese turnip pickles in a clear package.  Some things should just not be eaten and this was clearly one of them.  It looked like a skinned cat in a shrink wrapped package.  Gross.  They did have a good selection of Bob’s Red Mill products so I got a couple of packages of hot breakfast cereal.  I have been wanting to try the whole wheat cereal for a couple of days but it takes 10 minutes to cook and I have been short on time. Maybe tomorrow.  Yesterday I finished off my regular cream of wheat for breakfast.  I topped it with a tablespoon of almond butter, some homemade plum jam, and a banana.  I also had a glass of milk to drink.  Thanks Jen for the idea! I ate that at 8:30am and wasn’t hungry until 12:30.

Lunch was a 50 minute session on the Precor elliptical at the gym and then I went to Trader Joe’s to get some things for dinner and also I needed something for lunch.  I ended up having 2 Vietnamese spring rolls (250 cals), really yummy, and then 6 pieces of brown rice California Roll sushi (350 cals).  I should have stopped at the spring rolls but I was still hungry.  The sushi was disgusting.  I have tried TJ’s sushi before and it was bad before, I don’t know why I keep buying it! Anyways, I finished it because I was HUNGRY.  When I got home from work, I was getting a little bit hungry so I ate a little cottage cheese and a string cheese.  I had to study, then I went to pick up Jacob from camp (they went to Magic Mountain).  On the way home, he said he didn’t have dinner so we drove through Taco Bell.  By this time, I was pretty hungry again so I just got a Mexican Pizza.  I wanted like 4 more tacos though!  So instead of driving down the hill to get some more tacos I had a bowl of corn flakes instead.

Today was my weigh-in day.  I think I got a little carried away after losing almost 3 pounds last week.  I weighed this morning and I had gained a pound.  I’m not worried about it. I skipped my workout 2 days this week and my food has not been stellar.  I really need to do better on the food.  I wish I could just eat whatever I want and not exercise and be skinny sometimes.  It’s not going to happen though so I have a plan, to plan my meals.  When I eat at home or take my lunch I always lose weight.  When I don’t plan, eat out, and eat crap, I always gain. 

Breakfast this morning was 3 egg whites scrambled, and I made a breakfast sandwich with 2 pieces of toast, 1 oz cheddar cheese, and some Tabasco sprinkled on top.  So far, so good.  I plan to have a salad for lunch, and a salad for dinner, and go to the gym later this evening.

One thought on “Mother’s Market Visit

Leave a Reply

