Cheat Meal

So, I’ve been doing a lot of soul searching and reflecting the past two months. What it comes down to is that I don’t want my life to pass me by while I’m feeling sorry for myself. It’s time I stop saying “one day I’ll lose weight” and time to make today “one day.” Three years ago in a 6 month time frame I went from 206lbs and a size 18 to 158lbs and a size 8. By doing this I ate clean all day every day and working my little tail off at the gym every single morning. By eating clean I mean, loads and loads of fruits and vegetables, little meat and whole grains. One meal of the week (usually Friday nights) I would allow myself a cheat meal, no restrictions. It was awesome! And then made sure that I got right back on track Saturday morning. I’m slowly, but surely getting right back into that, and I have to say it’s feeling really great. The only thing lacking now is the exercise. I no longer have the luxury of a gym membership and my children DESPISE when I make them go on walks/jogs with me, but I do have a HUGE array of exercise DVD’s (Turbo Jam, P90X, ChaLEAN Extreme and some Walk Away the Pounds DVD’s.). I need to just make a plan and do it. I need this weight off…NOW!!!

Breakfast yesterday was on the fly because we were running super late to meet my uncles and cousins at my Mom’s house. I had a bowl of Special K berries and called it a morning πŸ™‚

For lunch we decided the easiest thing to do with a boatload of children was to grill some hot dogs and break open a bag of chips. I had a Trader Joe’s Spicy Jalepeno Chicken Sausage on an Ezekiel Hot Dog bun with mustard and relish and then had a juicy plum on the side…oh yeah and a pickle πŸ™‚ 
 
 Dinner was my cheat meal for the week: Chicken Pad Thai from Siam Fusion. This place is like a little piece of Heaven. It’s family owned and they make everything fresh. We usually just order out because when you order there, you can expect to wait at least an hour for your food to be ready…with 3 kids, that’s not even close to being a feasible option so we bring it home!!

Pad Thai………………………………………………………………………………………………      

          Modern style stir-fried thin rice noodles with tofu, bean sprouts, ground peanuts, egg, and green onion.
Hello lover…
I also had one of these, it’s SO hard for me to only eat one they are that good!!!

Golden Chicken Rolls (3)……………………………………………………………………………………………………..

Deep-fried spring rolls stuffed with chicken, vegetables, and green onion.  Served with Plum Sauce.
So here’s my question to those who have lost weight. While you were losing weight did you designate a cheat meal every week? Did you have a cheat DAY? Or did you just go hardcore until you got to your goal weight. For those that are at their goal weights: Do you have a cheat day or cheat meal? 
7 thoughts on “Cheat Meal

  1. Hi Jen…I'm trying really ahrd to get motivted to do this yet again! I lost 80 lbs in about 6 months and kept it off for 2 years and then regained it all plus some…..I did WW at the time and really tracked what i ate, drank LOTS of water and i did designate a cheat day…..I like the idea of a cheat meal better because it's not nearly as hard to regain control. You can do this! WE can do this! I am gonna start slow and begin by just getting in lots of water and more fruits and veggies…..then I will start getting back in the groove….I'm lazy and hate exercise but I am over 40 and gotta do it….blah!

  2. Hi Jen. I am too trying to decide if I should be allowing myself a cheat meal or cheat day now that I am off of Medifast. And I really think it might just be a great idea! When I joined the gym I asked about nutrition and they gave me a paper. Pretty much it said to follow a 1200 calorie diet for 6 days and on the 7th day of your choice eat whatever you want so you dont feel deprived. So, that kind of goes along with your cheat meal. I think a cheat meal is much better than a whole cheat DAY. I am not sure I could handle that!! hehe. When you got the weight off last time do you know how many calories you were eating? I am really struggling with how much I should be eating now that I am off Medifast(my post today tells ALL about it!!!). What is odd for me is that I am NOT have an issue eating well and having the control to do so, just having an issue understanding how much to eat. I am still trying to figure it all out.Jenniferhttp://wecanlosethepounds.blogspot.com/

  3. Teena: Good luck to you! We can do this :)Jennifer: When I did this before, I was eating around 1500 calories a day, but I was running 4 miles a day and lifting weights as well. Since I'm just starting out again, I'm going to start with 1200. The key is to track every single thing you eat and eat lots of filling fruits and vegetables, oh yeah, and loads of water.Autumn: thank you!!

  4. That pad thai look amazing!!! MMmmmm!I went based off my social calendar. I knew that if I had a get together or dinner out on the weekend, it was worth "being good" all week for πŸ™‚ I recently heard of one family who designated Friday (Fry Day, get it?!) for french fries, fried chicken, donuts…whatever fried food they wanted. Once a week, and that was it. The kids stuck to it, too! I love that it taught balance and healthy eating in such a fun way.

  5. I gained about 15 pounds both my freshman and sophomore year of college. When I lost the weight during the summers after both those years I would be really really good during the week and on Saturday and Sunday be more relaxed. It worked for me because I felt rewarded for my hard work during the week.

  6. Hi there! I just ordered pasta from the delivery place. I was feeling really guilty until I came across youtr blog about cheat meals. I am going to allow myself this treat tonight…and BUST it out the rest of the week with healthy eating and exercise. Thank you for setting me FREE!I have lost 35 pounds since August 2010…and I am really proud of that. I want to lose 54 more. I would love to email/chat with you about getting healthy!Marisastrngmom04@yahoo.com

Leave a Reply

