Last Day of School

It feels like Tyler was just starting Kindergarten, but yesterday was his last day of 2nd grade! His teacher has been phenomenal, and Tyler and I will both miss him!!!

For breakfast I had Special K with Strawberries

And then I also had a peach

I don’t know what it is about eating cereal, but every time I do I’m starving an hour or so later. I saw an idea about using the Special K cereal in a yogurt and fruit parfait, so I think I’ll do that until this box of cereal is gone. Lunch is un-pictured. We have a tradition that we go out to eat lunch on the last day of school, it was Tyler’s choice, and shocker, we ended up at McDonald’s.

For dinner we had chicken that I had marinated in pineapples and teriyaki sauce all day and then made balsamic roasted asparagus:

Step 1: Place asparagus on a cookie sheet (I always line my sheets with foil) and coat with cooking spray. Sprinkle salt and pepper on top.

Roast at 400 for about 12 minutes. This batch I only did 6 minutes because the asparagus was so thin. While the asparagus is cooking melt 2 tablespoons of butter over medium heat (I used I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter)

Once it’s melted, add 2 tablespoons of soy sauce and 1 tablespoon of balsamic vinegar. Pour over asparagus after it’s cooked and toss to coat.

I then grilled some pineapple slices and we also had rice.

6 thoughts on “Last Day of School

  1. I believe I read that reason behind the feeling of hunger after eating cereal has something to do with the glycemic index. Special K, especially Special K Red Berries, has a good amount of sugar, 9g to be exact. I used to eat Special K everyday for breakfast and lunch and I felt so hungry all the time. I switched to eating oatmeal, the quick 1-minute ones. There is only 1g of sugar per serving, it fills you more and it is very versatile. I add Berries, bananas and honey to mine. Honey is a natural sweetener so it is good. I hope this helped you out. http://iamgoingtoloseitnow.blogspot.com/

  2. That dinner looks delicious! I also can't eat just cereal. It never carries me very far. I usually eat a Greek yogurt and a slice whole wheat toast with 1/5 tbsp. of natural, organic peanut butter for breakfast. It carries me to lunch most days. I have noticed that the more low fat/non fat yogurt I eat a day, the less hungry I feel and the faster I lose weight. Not sure why, but that has worked for me. You are doing great! Keep up the good work.

  3. Just found your blog and I love it! So sorry to hear about your dad. My thoughts and prayers are with you and your family. Good job with the weight loss! Have you tried that new greek yogurt with double the protein? It isnt that sweet but keeps you full longer which is key in my opinion!!! Maybe adding the cereal in that would sweeten it up a bit? just a thought! Feel free to check out my blog. Support is a great thing!Jenniferhttp://wecanlosethepounds.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

